University of the Incarnate Word

2014-15

The 2014-15 Common Data Set for University of the Incarnate Word — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 8, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

93.2%

Applications

4,257

Admitted

3,968

Enrolled

316

SAT Math

430-540

ACT Composite

18-23

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$56,733
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
51%
6-year completion
Average net price
$22,775
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$27,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report268numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
Last Name:x
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking316597Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking247199Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking11101800Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents49Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino548Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-Hispanic71Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic144Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic2Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic26Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic1Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic11Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total946Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma0
Associate degrees12
Bachelor's degrees1224
Postbachelor's certificates0
Master's degrees478
Post-master's certificates0
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship16
Doctoral degrees, professional practice164
Doctoral degrees, other0
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort888Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist4Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort884Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years166Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years148Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years53Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rate367%Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort716Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist1Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort715Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years138Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years117Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years31Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers286Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2010Not reported
Final cohort201013
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate74%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied15262731Not reported4,257
Admitted13992569Not reported3,968
Enrolled316Not reportedNot reported316
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time21Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies4
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT839
ACT399
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math430Not reported540
ACT composite18Not reported23
ACT math17Not reported24
ACT English16Not reported22
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7427
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4926
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2414
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.47
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:20
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:225
If yes, maximum period of postponement:- 1 semester
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,014
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,015
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

3 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied474673Not reported1147
Admitted435614Not reported1049
Enrolled310459Not reported769
Other fields
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Must submit transcripts from ALL colleges attended. If the applicant has less than 24 credit hours, they must also submit a final high school transcript (or a GED score) and SAT/ACT scores if they have been out of high school for less than 2 years.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:30
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)3%
Percent who live off campus or commute58%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)6%
Percent who live off campus or commute82%
Percent of students age 25 and older36%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)25

Annual Expenses

4 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:http://tcc.noellevitz.com/(S(lpa2ln523sbxe1baomrd00dm))/University%20of%20the
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition2590025900
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required feesNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2013-2014 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$11,570,852
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$28,689,893
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,279,244
Total Scholarships/Grants$46,293,991
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$34,804,572
Federal Work-Study$666,446
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$53,350
Total Self-Help$35,524,368
Parent Loans$4,597,552
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,140,156
Athletic Awards$3,379,643
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$9,520
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$7,564,021
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$146,648
Total Scholarships/Grants$7,720,189
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,657,253
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$2,657,253
Parent Loans$765,399
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$416,042
Athletic Awards$2,878,147
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:149
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 22 Common Data Set 2014-2015

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio14
based on ____ students5,048
and ____ faculty361

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
Agriculture0%0%0%
Natural resources and conservation0%0%1%
Architecture0%0%0%
Area, ethnic, and gender studies0%0%0%
Communication/journalism0%0%4%
Communication technologies0%0%1%
Computer and information sciences0%0%2%
Personal and culinary services0%0%0%
Education0%0%4%
Engineering0%0%0%
Engineering technologies0%0%Not reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reported0%Not reported
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
English0%0%1%
Liberal arts/general studies0%67%0%
Library science0%0%0%
Biological/life sciences0%0%11%
Mathematics and statistics0%0%0%
Military science and military technologies0%0%0%
Interdisciplinary studies0%0%2%
Parks and recreation0%0%2%
Philosophy and religious studies0%0%1%
Theology and religious vocations0%0%0%
Physical sciences0%0%1%
Science technologies0%0%0%
Psychology0%0%4%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services0%0%3%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Construction tradesNot reported0%0%
Mechanic and repair technologies0%0%0%
Precision productionNot reportedNot reported0%
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported5%
Business/marketing0%Not reported40%
HistoryNot reported0%Not reported
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0%100%100%
Associate
Bachelors

Source Document