University of the Incarnate Word

2012-13

The 2012-13 Common Data Set for University of the Incarnate Word — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 8, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

94.1%

Applications

3,784

Admitted

3,562

Enrolled

1,016

SAT Math

440-550

ACT Composite

18-23

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$56,733
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
51%
6-year completion
Average net price
$22,775
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$27,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report277numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:admis@uiwtx.edu
Last Name:x
Admissions Office
Admissions Email Address:A1 If there is a separate URL for your
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking391625Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking255402Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported6404
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2038
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported8442
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents35Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino6991010
Black or African American, non-Hispanic66Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic202Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic1Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic26Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic2Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic12Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total1064Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma0
Associate degrees6
Bachelor's degrees1065
Postbachelor's certificates0
Master's degrees435
Post-master's certificates0
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship11
Doctoral degrees, professional practice98
Doctoral degrees, other0
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort621Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist2Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort619Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years134Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years118Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years37Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rate289%Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist2Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort571Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years125Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years96Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years27Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers248Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2008Not reported
Final cohort200813
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate75%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied13232461Not reported3,784
Admitted12332329Not reported3,562
Enrolled391625Not reported1,016
Enrolled full-timeNot reported625Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time2424Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Computer Science1
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies4
Computer Science1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT859
ACT419
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math440Not reported550
ACT composite18Not reported23
ACT math18Not reported24
ACT English16Not reported23
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7431.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4923.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.995.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.4
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:20
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:8
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 semester
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Must submit transcripts from ALL colleges attended. If the applicant has less than 24 credit hours, they must also submit a final high school transcript (or a GED score) and SAT/ACT scores if they have been out of high school for less than 2 years. -
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:30
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)3%
Percent of males who join fraternities1%
Percent of females who join sororities2%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing46%
Percent who live off campus or commute54%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)5%
Percent of males who join fraternities1%
Percent of females who join sororities1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing18%
Percent who live off campus or commute82%
Percent of students age 25 and older37%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)25

Annual Expenses

5 TABLES
Information
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:2/1/2013
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition2280022800
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required fees890890
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No

Financial Aid

7 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2011-2012 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$11,245,660
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$14,929,576
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$215,439
Total Scholarships/Grants$31,696,439
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$16,750,552
Federal Work-Study$769,474
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$73,880
Total Self-Help$17,593,906
Parent Loans$5,188,633
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,430,184
Athletic Awards$2,234,745
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$9,580,309
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,082,822
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,663,131
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$16,075,773
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$16,075,773
Parent Loans$931,788
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$52,185
Athletic Awards$287,391
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:117
Financial Aid Deadlines
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month4
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):2
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:##

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio14
based on ____ students5,074
and ____ faculty364

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
Agriculture0.0%0.0%0.0%
Natural resources and conservation0.0%0.0%0.1%
Architecture0.0%0.0%0.0%
Area, ethnic, and gender studies0.0%0.0%0.0%
Communication/journalism0.0%0.0%3.4%
Communication technologies0.0%0.0%0.3%
Computer and information sciences0.0%0.0%1.8%
Personal and culinary services0.0%0.0%Not reported
EducationNot reported0.0%0.0%
Engineering0.0%0.0%0.0%
Engineering technologies0.0%0.0%0.7%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics0.0%0.0%0.1%
Family and consumer sciences0.0%0.0%3.4%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal arts/general studies0.0%83.3%0.0%
Library science0.0%0.0%0.0%
Biological/life sciences0.0%0.0%7.8%
Mathematics and statistics0.0%0.0%1.0%
Military science and military technologies0.0%0.0%0.0%
Interdisciplinary studies0.0%0.0%Not reported
Parks and recreation0.0%0.0%Not reported
Philosophy and religious studies0.0%0.0%0.6%
Theology and religious vocations0.0%0.0%0.0%
Physical sciences0.0%0.0%0.5%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.0%
PsychologyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social services0.0%0.0%0.0%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Construction tradesNot reported0.0%Not reported
Mechanic and repair technologies0.0%0.0%0.0%
Precision productionNot reported0.0%0.0%
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Health professions and related programsNot reported0.0%12.0%
Business/marketing0.0%16.7%43.2%
History0.0%0.0%0.8%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100.0%0.0%100.0%
Associate
Bachelors

Source Document