University of Massachusetts-Lowell

2012-13

The 2012-13 Common Data Set for University of Massachusetts-Lowell — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 26, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

SAT Math

520-630

ACT Composite

21-27

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$64,874
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
65%
6-year completion
Average net price
$17,163
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$23,704
federal loans only
Nonpayment
10%
FSA · as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report186numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.uml.edu/Academics/provost-office/IR/Common-Data-Set
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents11Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino11634
Black or African American, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic1043Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic132Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic0Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total1495Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma110
Associate degrees36
Bachelor's degrees1836
Postbachelor's certificates384
Master's degrees739
Post-master's certificates6
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship58
Doctoral degrees, professional practice35
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort1212Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist2Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort1210Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years316Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years258Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years76Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers650Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rate54%Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort1064Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist1Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort1063Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years169Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years45Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate81%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
AppliedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
AdmittedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnrolledNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2,012
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled20
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled112,012
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled2,011
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies2
Mathematics4
Science4
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes———
Class rank——Yes—
Academic GPAYes———
Standardized test scoresYes———
Application essay—Yes——
Recommendations—Yes——
Interview——Yes—
Extracurricular activities——Yes—
Talent or ability——Yes—
Character and personal qualities——Yes—
First generation——Yes—
Alumni relation——Yes—
Geographical residence——Yes—
State residency——Yes—
Religious affiliation or commitment———Yes
Volunteer work——Yes—
Work experienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Level of applicant interest——Yes—
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT971
ACT99
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math520Not reported630
ACT composite21Not reported27
ACT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7414.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2418.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9924.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.496.4
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.29
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:60
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month2
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month12
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Must reply by (date)X
Date: Month5
Date: Day1
If yes, maximum period of postponement:| 1 year | | |
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,012
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,013
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No

Transfer Admission

4 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied1072811Not reported1883
Admitted972726Not reported1698
Enrolled653466Not reported1119
Other fields
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month7
Spring Closing Date: Month12
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?Yes
Other
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)10%
Percent who live off campus or commute26%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent who live off campus or commute67%
Percent of students age 25 and older14%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22

Annual Expenses

5 TABLES
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reported8567
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required feesNot reported3699
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$61
In-state (out-of-district):$61
Out-of-state:$357

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2011-2012 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$15,200,000
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$15,500,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$8,400
Total Scholarships/Grants$34,940,000
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$4,100,000
Federal Work-Study$425,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$26,800
Total Self-Help$44,105,000
Parent Loans$1,425,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$34,000
Athletic Awards$550,000
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:46
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):22
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:As of 8/19/13

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students10,521
and ____ faculty617

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0.10%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciences52.70%Not reported9.80%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering2.70%Not reported13.80%
Engineering technologies4.60%Not reported1.00%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.10%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
English0.90%Not reported3.80%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported6.10%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.50%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1.40%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studies1.80%Not reported0.70%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.70%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.10%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported7.80%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services32.70%Not reported11.70%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.00%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing arts4.60%Not reported4.50%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported11.00%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1.30%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100.00%100.00%100.00%

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.