University of Massachusetts-Lowell

2011-12

The 2011-12 Common Data Set for University of Massachusetts-Lowell — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the school's HTTP Last-Modified header: Apr 13, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

65.0%

Applications

7,720

Admitted

5,020

Enrolled

1,433

SAT Math

520-620

ACT Composite

21-26

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$64,874
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
65%
6-year completion
Average net price
$17,163
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$23,704
federal loans only
Nonpayment
10%
FSA · as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report159numbers from this report.

General Information

2 TABLES
Admissions Office
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.uml.edu/apply/default.aspx
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public

Enrollment And Persistence

3 TABLES
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents7Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino108Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-Hispanic61Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic989Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic0Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic124Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic0Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic32Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total1433Not reportedNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort1064Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist1Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort1063Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years170Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years43Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist1Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years286Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years56Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rate50.8%Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort0Not reported
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate79%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied44093311Not reported7,720
Admitted30012019Not reported5,020
Enrolled912512Not reported1,424
Enrolled full-timeNot reported512Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time54Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History2
Mathematics4
Science4
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes———
Class rank——Yes—
Academic GPAYes———
Standardized test scoresYes———
Application essay—Yes——
Recommendations—Yes——
Interview——Yes—
Extracurricular activities——Yes—
Talent or ability——Yes—
Character and personal qualities——Yes—
First generation——Yes—
Alumni relation———Yes
Geographical residence——Yes—
State residency——Yes—
Religious affiliation or commitment———Yes
Volunteer work——Yes—
Work experience——Yes—
Level of applicant interest——Yes—
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT31396
ACTNot reported125
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math520Not reported620
ACT composite21Not reported26
ACT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class17
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class43
Percent in top half of high school graduating class82
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class18
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7412.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2418.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9929.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.494.1
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:60
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:0

Transfer Admission

1 TABLE
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required

Student Life

3 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)11%
Percent who live off campus or commute30%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent who live off campus or commute72%
Percent of students age 25 and older27%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students22
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)24
Activities Offered
International Student OrganizationX
Literary magazineX

Annual Expenses

5 TABLES
Information
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:No
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reported8567.00
Tuition: in-districtNot reported1454.00
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required feesNot reported10398
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Tuition
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum2

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2011-2012 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$15,500,000
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$13,100,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$600,000
Total Scholarships/Grants$32,400,000
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$37,000,000
Federal Work-Study$425,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,150,000
Total Self-Help$39,575,000
Parent Loans$1,500,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,050,000
Athletic Awards$625,000
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$75,000
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,200,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$250,000
Total Scholarships/Grants$3,555,000
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$19,000,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$19,000,000
Parent Loans$5,500,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$700,000
Athletic Awards$800,000
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):22
Institutional Aid
ArtX
ArtX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:## I1 ##

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students10,054
and ____ faculty598

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciences48%56%9%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering4%Not reported13%
Engineering technologies8%32%1%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
English3%Not reported3%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Library scienceNot reportedNot reported3%
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported0%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported1%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported2%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported7%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services37%Not reported12%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported3%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported5%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported11%
Business/marketingNot reported12%20%
HistoryNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100%100%100%
Associate
Bachelors

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.