University of Houston-Downtown

2024-25

The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Houston-Downtown — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 6, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.

In its 2024-25 report, University of Houston-Downtown says 6,551 first-year students applied and 5,893 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 90%. 1,181 admitted students enrolled (20% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 900–1070 and ACT of 15–21.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

90.0%

Applications

6,551

Admitted

5,893

Enrolled

1,181

SAT Composite

900-1070

SAT Math

430-530

SAT Reading

460-550

ACT Composite

15-21

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$53,551
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
33%
6-year completion
Average net price
$10,542
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$18,750
federal loans only
Nonpayment
18%
FSA · as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report471 of ~471numbers from this report.

General Information

7 TABLES
Address Information
Name of College/University:University of Houston-Downtown
Mailing Address:One Main Street, Office of Admissions, Suite GSB308
City/State/Zip/Country:Houston
Main Phone Number:TX
WWW Home Page Address:77002
Admissions Phone Number:USA
Admissions Toll-Free Phone Number:713
Admissions Office Mailing Address:221-8000
Admissions E-mail Address:www.uhd.edu
Admissions Office
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):713
Admissions Phone Number:221-8522
Admissions Email Address:uhdadmit@uhd.edu
Institutional Control
PublicPublic
Classification
Coeducational collegeCoeducational college
Academic Year
SemesterSemester
Degrees Offered
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
DEI
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.uhd.edu/admissions/apply/index.aspx

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking41344400Not reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking25023800Not reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking1733282400Not reported
Full-time total degree-seeking2396350600Not reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduates0300Not reported
Full-time total undergraduates2396350900Not reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking13918500Not reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seeking13620000Not reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking2083391000Not reported
Part-time total degree-seeking2358429500Not reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduates194500Not reported
Part-time total undergraduates2377434000Not reported
Total undergraduates4773784900Not reported
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seeking8517600Not reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reported4400Not reported
Full-time total graduates606300Not reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduates36761800Not reported
Total graduate students427Not reportedNot reported0Not reported
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported0Not reported
All
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents15227227
Hispanic/Latino83974557483
Black or African American, non-Hispanic14321612174
White, non-Hispanic5912431257
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic299
Asian, non-Hispanic8910241035
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic11414
Two or more races, non-Hispanic17296296
Race and/or ethnicity unknown16126127
Total11811255512622
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diplomaNot reported
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees2901
Postbachelor's certificates253
Master's degrees473
Post-master's certificatesNot reported
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported

First-Time, First-Year Admission

6 TABLES

Entrance Exams

SATX
ACTX
APX
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
State Exam (specify):X
Specify:TSI 2.0 Assessment (TSIA2)
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?Yes
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknown genderTotal
AppliedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported6,551
AdmittedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported5,893
Enrolled full-time41344400Not reported
Enrolled part-time13918500Not reported
Enrolled totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported1,181
Other fields
In-state first-time, first-year who applied6,326
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted5,683
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled45
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied172
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted158
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled0
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied53
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted52
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled44
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who enrolled0
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units26
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History2
Academic electives5.5
Computer Science1
Other (specify)1.5
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school record—Yes——
Class rankYes———
Academic GPAYes———
Standardized test scoresYes———
Application essay———Yes
Recommendations———Yes
Interview———Yes
Extracurricular activities———Yes
Talent or ability———Yes
Character and personal qualities———Yes
First generation———Yes
Alumni relation———Yes
Geographical residence———Yes
State residency———Yes
Religious affiliation or commitment———Yes
Volunteer work———Yes
Work experience———Yes
Level of applicant interest———Yes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT64754
ACT670
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite9009901070
SAT evidence-based reading and writing460500550
SAT math430490530
ACT composite151821
ACT math151619
ACT English131721
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8000.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-6996.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59949.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49938.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3995.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8000.3
SAT Math: 600-6994.5
SAT Math: 500-59944.6
SAT Math: 400-49938.5
SAT Math: 300-39911.9
SAT Math: 200-2990.3
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16000.1
SAT Composite: 1200-13992.9
SAT Composite: 1000-119946.3
SAT Composite: 800-99945.2
SAT Composite: 600-7995.3
SAT Composite: 400-5990.1
ACT Composite: 30-361.4
ACT Composite: 24-2910
ACT Composite: 18-2338.6
ACT Composite: 12-1748.6
ACT Composite: 6-111.4
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class7
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class27
Percent in top half of high school graduating class64
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class36
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class10
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:69
Percent who had GPA of 4.014.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9912.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2415.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9923.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.02.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.996.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7417.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4924.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2418.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9927.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.8
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.3
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.010.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9910.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4918.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2416.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9924.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.8
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.2
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.31
Admission Policies
Same feeX
Priority Date: Month6
Priority Date: Day1
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No

Transfer Admission

1 TABLE
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

3 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing0%
Percent who live off campus or commute100%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing0%
Percent who live off campus or commute100%
Percent of students age 25 and older42%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students23
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)26
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX

Annual Expenses

2 TABLES
Public Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-district74337433
Tuition: in-state74337433
Tuition: out-of-state1958319583
Tuition: nonresident1958319583
Required fees14561456
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses

Financial Aid

6 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients9185
Average institutional non-need grant364044812600
Athletic grant recipients000
Average athletic grantNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Methodology
Both FM and IM47060035
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$6,527,881
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$6,178,153
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$0
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$59,766,069
Total Scholarships/Grants$13,241,382
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$727,495
Federal Work-Study$108,174
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$14,077,051
Total Self-Help$0
Parent Loans$1,415,481
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$111,834
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$1,641,793
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,005,133
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,758,760
Total Scholarships/Grants$14,591,895
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$14,591,895
Total Self-Help$322,434
Parent Loans$478,852
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates85759006650
Applied for need-based aid74847524921
Determined to have financial need69645524677
Awarded any aid68744564474
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid67843474267
Awarded need-based self-help aid19215871577
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid98508264
Need fully met69495577
Average percentage of need met61.066.064.0
Average financial aid package990897887451
Average need-based scholarship or grant858778785942
Average need-based self-help award346844904372
Average need-based loan336844114332
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.559

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty375345720
Members of minority groups162178340
Females183196379
Males192149341
Nonresidents22931
Doctorate or other terminal degree319169488
Master's, but not terminal master's56168224
Bachelor's degree033
Unknown or other highest degree055
Stand-alone graduate/professional programs000
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2024 Student to Faculty ratio18
based on ____ students8,595
and ____ faculty490
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students1083
10-19 students1083
20-29 students3251
30-39 students2782
40-49 students1690
50-99 students660
100+ students160
Total00

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported3.02%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.98%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported6.62%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported2.09%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.24%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1.68%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported0.48%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.60%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.41%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported10.83%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.24%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.47%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported9.70%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported7.85%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported3.26%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.26%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported0.72%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported3.46%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported36.65%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1.44%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.00%

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.