First-year admissions

Northwestern University acceptance rate

Northwestern University admitted 7.7% of first-year applicants for fall 2024 (3,806 of 49,474), up from 7.2% for fall 2023 and fall 2022, the lowest in the six years with figures. Early decision admitted 23.0% for fall 2024 (1,186 of 5,154). The high was 9.3%, for fall 2020. It was 8.5% for fall 2018. Usable figures for fall 2021 are not in our archive.

Northwestern University’s acceptance rate, fall 2018–2024

Dark bars show first-year admission. Olive bars show early decision. — = not reported or not usable.
Northwestern University first-year acceptance rate, applicants, admits, enrolled, and yield by entering class, newest first. Early-decision rate is shown under the first-year rate when the report includes C21 counts.
YearAcceptance rateAppliedAdmittedEnrolledYieldSource
Fall 20242024–25 report7.7%23.0% ED49,4743,8062,10555.3%PDF
Fall 20232023–24 report7.2%22.5% ED51,7693,7392,11156.5%PDF
Fall 20222022–23 report7.2%22.1% ED51,2613,6952,03855.2%PDF
Fall 20212021–22 report—Report on file; counts not usable
Fall 20202020–21 report9.3%—39,2633,6541,90152.0%PDF
Fall 20192019–20 report9.1%—40,5853,6732,00654.6%PDF
Fall 20182018–19 report8.5%26.5% ED40,4253,4221,93156.4%PDF

Source: Common Data Set reports published by Northwestern University, section C1 (first-time, first-year, degree-seeking students). Note: Acceptance rate is admitted ÷ applied; yield is enrolled ÷ admitted. Early-decision figures are section C21 (applications received and admitted under the early decision plan). Each year is the class entering that fall; the 2024–25 report covers fall 2024. — = not reported or not usable.

Building something with this data? Use the free API.