Northwestern University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for Northwestern University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$89,363
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
95%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$29,167
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,000
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
199numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://enrollment.northwestern.edu/common-data-set.html
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Quarter
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 213 | 780 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 256 | 1034 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 114 | 473 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 793 | 3689 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 8 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 365 | 1446 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 130 | 471 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 58 | 329 | Not reported |
| Total | 1931 | 8231 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 139 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 2140 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 90 |
| Master's degrees | 4455 |
| Post-master's certificates | 48 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 443 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 528 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2014 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2014 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 19550 | 20875 | Not reported | 40,425 |
| Admitted | 1657 | 1765 | Not reported | 3,422 |
| Enrolled | 896 | 1035 | Not reported | 1,931 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 45 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 700 | 760 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 730 | 790 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 33 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Amount of application fee:75
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1104 | 965 | Not reported | 2069 |
| Admitted | 174 | 142 | Not reported | 316 |
| Enrolled | 90 | 69 | Not reported | 159 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Notification Date: Month7
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2018-2019
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)72%
Percent of males who join fraternities28%
Percent of females who join sororities32%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)68%
Percent of males who join fraternities30%
Percent of females who join sororities39%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing60%
Percent who live off campus or commute40%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/student/app/northwestern
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 56232 | 56232 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 459 | 459 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2017-2018 estimated
Federal$9,630,969
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$173,112,445
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,282,592
Total Scholarships/Grants$191,131,701
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$5,913,950
Federal Work-Study$3,400,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,276,414
Total Self-Help$12,590,364
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,786,187
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$711,901
Total Scholarships/Grants$2,498,088
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$10,048,624
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$10,048,624
Parent Loans$11,019,764
Athletic Awards$18,324,210
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,452
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 23 Common Data Set 2018-2019
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio6
based on ____ students2,016
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0% | Not reported | 0.67% |
| Architecture | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0% | Not reported | 1.08% |
| Communication/journalism | 0% | Not reported | 13.5% |
| Communication technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 0% | Not reported | 4.99% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | 0% | Not reported | 0.45% |
| Engineering | 0% | Not reported | 12.8% |
| Engineering technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.94% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 0% | Not reported | 1.71% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 7.19% | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Library science | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | 11.51% | Not reported | 7.75% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0% | Not reported | 6.92% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 0% | Not reported | 0.97% |
| Parks and recreation | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0% | Not reported | 0.93% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | 0% | Not reported | 1.71% |
| Science technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | 0% | Not reported | 6.62% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | 0% | Not reported | 3.16% |
| Social sciences | 0% | Not reported | 22.4% |
| Construction trades | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | 0% | Not reported | 7.52% |
| Health professions and related programs | 5.76% | Not reported | 1.38% |
| Business/marketing | 75.54% | Not reported | 0.63% |
| History | 0% | Not reported | 2.08% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.