Worcester Polytechnic Institute
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Worcester Polytechnic Institute — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$103,470
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
90%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$43,071
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$27,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
181numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESFirst Name:Melissa
Last Name:Leahy
Title:Director of Strategic Initiatives, Office of IR
Address Line 1:100 Institute Road
Phone:508-831-6717
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
Name of College/University:Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 66 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 123 | 440 | 440 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 26 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 870 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 133 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 51 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 1294 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 674 |
| Post-master's certificates | 1 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 54 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 1829 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 95% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESTotal academic units10
English4
Mathematics4
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Science4
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
Computer Science1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 69 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1320 | 1450 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 630 | 710 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 670 | 760 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 29 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class56
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class87
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:34
Percent who had GPA of 4.056.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9917.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.495.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.241.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.85
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 126 | 51 | Not reported | 177 |
| Admitted | 72 | 30 | Not reported | 102 |
| Enrolled | 25 | 10 | Not reported | 35 |
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Calculus I and two lab sciences
Fall Closing Date: Month15
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day30
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:72
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:[https://www.wpi.edu/admissions/tuition-aid/financial-need/net-price-calculator](https://www.wpi.edu/admissions/tuition-aid/financial-need/net-price-calculator)
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 53100 | 53100 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2020-2021 estimated
Federal$2,631,371
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$65,635,777
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,972,372
Total Scholarships/Grants$73,090,211
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$11,380,749
Federal Work-Study$989,370
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$12,370,119
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$32,752,853
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,085,373
Total Scholarships/Grants$39,838,226
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$28,612,195
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$28,612,195
Parent Loans$8,193,760
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,008
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:N/A ##
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13.2
based on ____ students926
and ____ faculty449
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 788 | 23 |
| 10-19 students | 227 | 99 |
| 20-29 students | 276 | 193 |
| 30-39 students | 81 | 23 |
| 40-49 students | 56 | 1 |
| 50-99 students | 110 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 37 | 0 |
| Total | 1575 | 340 |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.