Winona State University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Winona State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Winona State University says 23,095 first-year students applied and 20,475 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 89%. 5,906 admitted students enrolled (29% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1130–1350 and ACT of 21–28.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 23,095 | 20,475 | 89% | 5,906 | School-reported totals. |
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3166 | 2660 | Not reported | 17 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 651 | 563 | 1 | 6 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 9588 | 7690 | Not reported | 319 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 13405 | 10913 | 1 | 342 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 31 | 21 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 13436 | 10934 | 1 | 342 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 8 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 8 | 22 | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 381 | 260 | Not reported | 13 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 397 | 287 | 0 | 14 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 482 | 409 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 85 | 122 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 13521 | 11056 | 1 | Not reported | 16315 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 506 | 552 | Not reported | 16 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1376 | 1298 | Not reported | 50 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 1893 | 1852 | 0 | 66 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 11 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 84 | 78 | Not reported | 6 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 383 | 345 | Not reported | 7 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 37 | 50 | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 504 | 473 | 0 | 16 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 2397 | 2325 | 0 | 82 | Not reported |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 15918 | 13668 | 1 | 448 | 30432 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 188 | 914 | 955 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 452 | 1785 | 1801 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 136 | 619 | 623 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 4573 | 18998 | 19123 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 10 | 33 | 36 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 217 | 1071 | 1099 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 15 | 15 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 227 | 823 | 836 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 53 | 1101 | 1140 |
| Total | 5856 | 25359 | 25628 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 5799 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 157 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 967 | 1604 | 3338 | 5909 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Final cohort | 967 | 1604 | 3333 | 5904 |
| Completed in less than four years | 499 | 843 | 2005 | 3347 |
| Completed in less than five years | 141 | 239 | 590 | 970 |
| Completed in less than six years | 26 | 29 | 75 | 130 |
| Total completers | 666 | 1111 | 2670 | 4447 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 68.9% | 69.3% | 80.1% | 75.3% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1076 | 1089 | 3599 | 5764 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 7 | 7 |
| Final cohort | 1076 | 1089 | 3592 | 5757 |
| Completed in less than four years | 533 | 557 | 2043 | 3133 |
| Completed in less than five years | 172 | 188 | 681 | 1041 |
| Completed in less than six years | 32 | 30 | 107 | 169 |
| Total completers | 737 | 775 | 2831 | 4343 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 68.5% | 71.2% | 78.8% | 75.4% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 11855 | 11240 | 0 | 0 | 23,095 |
| Admitted | 10534 | 9941 | 0 | 0 | 20,475 |
| Enrolled full-time | 3210 | 2677 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 8 | 11 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5,906 |
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 13 | 791 |
| ACT | 46 | 2698 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1130 | 1250 | 1350 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 560 | 620 | 670 |
| SAT math | 560 | 630 | 690 |
| ACT composite | 21 | 24 | 28 |
| ACT math | 20 | 25 | 28 |
| ACT English | 20 | 23 | 27 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
4 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 9252 | 9252 |
| Tuition: in-state | 9252 | 9252 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 27346 | 27346 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 27346 | 27346 |
| Required fees | 1535 | 1535 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 10808 | 10808 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 5700 | 5700 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 5108 | 5108 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 2608 | 10215 | 332 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 6544 | 5660 | 1630 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 90 | 429 | 9 |
| Average athletic grant | 17396 | 20370 | 24203 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 5793 | 24110 | 1221 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5048 | 18408 | 618 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2807 | 11101 | 440 |
| Awarded any aid | 2747 | 10845 | 382 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2736 | 10760 | 377 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1637 | 6872 | 206 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1294 | 4848 | 60 |
| Need fully met | 639 | 2621 | 32 |
| Average percentage of need met | 80.0 | 78.0 | 44.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 15798 | 15665 | 9776 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | 3288 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1406 | 269 | 1675 |
| Members of minority groups | 367 | 36 | 403 |
| Females | 554 | 133 | 687 |
| Males | 852 | 136 | 988 |
| Nonresidents | 60 | 6 | 66 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1292 | 170 | 1462 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 109 | 84 | 193 |
| Bachelor's degree | 5 | 15 | 20 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 132 | 12 | 144 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 304 | 152 |
| 10-19 students | 304 | 152 |
| 20-29 students | 782 | 359 |
| 30-39 students | 828 | 460 |
| 40-49 students | 330 | 156 |
| 50-99 students | 246 | 60 |
| 100+ students | 520 | 34 |
| Total | 249 | 14 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 20.71% | Not reported | 10.92% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.73% |
| Architecture | 0.51% | 0.51% | 1.48% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.39% |
| Communication/journalism | 2.02% | 2.02% | 3.10% |
| Communication technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Computer and information sciences | 4.04% | 4.04% | 4.42% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Education | 10.10% | 10.10% | 4.19% |
| Engineering | 7.07% | 7.07% | 19.82% |
| Engineering technologies | 3.03% | 3.03% | 1.24% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.95% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 1.52% | 1.52% | 2.79% |
| Law/legal studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| English | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.11% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.22% |
| Library science | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Biological/life sciences | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.83% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 1.01% | 1.01% | 1.37% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.67% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.12% |
| Parks and recreation | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.77% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.29% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Physical sciences | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.35% |
| Science technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Psychology | 0.51% | 0.51% | 3.48% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.81% |
| Public administration and social services | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.14% |
| Social sciences | 2.53% | 2.53% | 2.22% |
| Construction trades | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Precision production | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Visual and performing arts | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.35% |
| Health professions and related programs | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.37% |
| Business/marketing | 46.97% | 46.97% | 17.86% |
| History | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.01% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.