Widener University
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Widener University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$70,920
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
68%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$25,759
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$27,000
federal loans only
FSA
9%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
468numbers from this report.
General Information
8 TABLESFirst Name:Stephen W .
Last Name:Thorpe
Title:Director
Office:Institutional Research & Effectiveness
Address Line 1:One University Place
Zipcode19,013
Phone:610-499-4117
Email Address:swthorpe@widener.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.widener.edu/consumer-information
City:Chester
StatePA
Name of College/University:W idener University
Street Address Line 1:One University Place
CityChester
StatePA
Zip19,013
Main Phone Number (Area Code)610
Main Phone Number:499-4000
WWW Home Page Address:www.widener.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):610
Admissions Phone Number:499-4126
Admissions Email Address:admissions.office@widener.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2912 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3238 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6150 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 10 | 42 | 42 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 46 | 1 | 1 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 69 | 359 | 363 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 420 | 2037 | 2074 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 27 | 96 | 97 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 9 | 76 | 78 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 19 | 70 | 80 |
| Total | 600 | 2854 | 2912 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 6 |
| Associate degrees | 23 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 710 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 3 |
| Master's degrees | 621 |
| Post-master's certificates | 2 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 208 | 277 | 248 | 733 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 208 | 277 | 248 | 733 |
| Completed in less than four years | 88 | 148 | 156 | 392 |
| Completed in less than five years | 24 | 30 | 18 | 72 |
| Completed in less than six years | 4 | 6 | 5 | 15 |
| Total completers | 116 | 184 | 179 | 479 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 56% | 66% | 72% | 65% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 233 | 462 | 132 | 827 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 233 | 461 | 132 | 826 |
| Completed in less than four years | 91 | 254 | 75 | 420 |
| Completed in less than five years | 28 | 59 | 15 | 102 |
| Completed in less than six years | 6 | 5 | 6 | 17 |
| Total completers | 125 | 318 | 96 | 539 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 54% | 69% | 73% | 65% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 13 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 81% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?No
APX
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2429 | 3310 | Not reported | 5,739 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 286 | 312 | Not reported | 598 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 312 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 2 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:0
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:0
Number of wait-listed students admitted:0
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Total academic units23
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 92 | 553 |
| ACT | 15 | 90 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1045 | 1210 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 515 | 600 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 520 | 610 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 20 | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 18 | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 19 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8003
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69925
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59958
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49914
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8003
SAT Math: 600-69925
SAT Math: 500-59958
SAT Math: 400-49914
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16001
SAT Composite: 1200-139925
SAT Composite: 1000-119961
SAT Composite: 800-99913
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-364
ACT Composite: 24-2940
ACT Composite: 18-2352
ACT Composite: 12-174
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.018
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9917
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7422
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9911
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.493
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.49
Does your institution have an application fee?No
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Yes, on a rolling basis:X
Must reply by May 1st or within____weeks if notified after2
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month5
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day1
Amount of housing deposit:100
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 199 | 544 | Not reported | 743 |
| Admitted | 94 | 198 | Not reported | 292 |
| Enrolled | 35 | 76 | Not reported | 111 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallX
SpringX
SummerX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)45%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing0%
Percent who live off campus or commute100%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)40%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities19%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing5%
Percent who live off campus or commute95%
Percent of students age 25 and older10%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student-run film societyX
Television stationX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 48724 | 48724 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 982 | 982 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 120 | 541 | 18 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 30050 | 26642 | 6350 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Federal$3,785,292
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,145,439
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$52,137,522
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$870,645
Total Scholarships/Grants$58,938,898
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$11,900,744
Federal Work-Study$1,950,480
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$13,851,224
Parent Loans$4,264,421
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,439,399
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$48,665
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$14,527,736
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$161,088
Total Scholarships/Grants$14,737,489
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,141,990
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$1,141,990
Parent Loans$291,582
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,774,100
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 598 | 2627 | 227 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 566 | 2235 | 97 |
| Determined to have financial need | 490 | 2014 | 79 |
| Awarded any aid | 489 | 1998 | 71 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 485 | 1957 | 57 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 442 | 1836 | 54 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 481 | 1879 | 16 |
| Need fully met | 84 | 614 | 6 |
| Average percentage of need met | 86.0 | 76.0 | 39.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 37600 | 34940 | 16660 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 33435 | 29930 | 6400 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3764 | 6288 | 4578 |
| Average need-based loan | 3343 | 4511 | 4175 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 264 | 353 | 617 |
| Members of minority groups | 59 | 51 | 110 |
| Females | 151 | 204 | 355 |
| Males | 113 | 149 | 262 |
| Nonresidents | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 244 | 153 | 397 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 20 | 193 | 213 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 7 | 7 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 62 | 80 | 142 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13
based on ____ students4,810
and ____ faculty475
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 44 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 44 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 90 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 5 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 15.8% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | 100.0% | 17.0% | 0.6% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 9.0% | 9.0% | 0.1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.6% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.5% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | 74.0% | 74.0% | 33.8% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 18.7% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.