Whitman College
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Whitman College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$67,589
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
81%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$33,313
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,437
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
119numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESFirst Name:Cynthia
Last Name:Cohn
Title:Assistant Director of Institutional Research
Office:Institutional Research
Address Line 1:345 Boyer Ave.
Zipcode99,362
Country:United States
Phone:509-526-3020
Email Address:cohnc@whitman.edu
City:Walla Walla
StateWashington
Street Address Line 1:345 Boyer Ave.
CityWalla Walla
StateWashington
Zip99,362
Country:United States
Main Phone Number (Area Code)509
Main Phone Number:527-5111
WWW Home Page Address:whitman.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):509
Admissions Phone Number:527-5176
Admissions Email Address:admission@whitman.edu
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 182.0 | 261.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 461.0 | 592.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 461.0 | 592.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 643.0 | 853.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 89% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6,185 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3,092 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied1,105
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted850
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied2,637
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted1,945
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied2,443
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted297
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
Computer Science1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 31 | 139 |
| ACT | 11 | 50 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1290 | 1380 | 1470 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 650 | 690 | 740 |
| SAT math | 620 | 670 | 740 |
| ACT composite | 27 | 30 | 33 |
| ACT math | 25 | 29 | 32 |
| ACT English | 26 | 31 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
ACT Composite: 30-3657
ACT Composite: 24-2933
ACT Composite: 18-2310
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Total59
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.70
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:79
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 39 | 59 | Not reported | 98 |
| Admitted | 23 | 39 | Not reported | 62 |
| Enrolled | 11 | 15 | Not reported | 26 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month4
Spring Notification Date: Month11
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day20
Spring Notification Date: Day20
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.whitman.edu/admission-and-aid/financial-aid-and-costs/net-price-calculator)
Financial Aid
2 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$9,289,166
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio10
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 1.0% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.7% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 7.223% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 14.2% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5.2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 13.7% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 20.2% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10.6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.