Whitman College
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Whitman College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$67,589
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
81%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$33,313
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,437
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
411numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Bachelor'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1493 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 44 | 175 | 175 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 25 | 136 | 138 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 10 | 39 | 39 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 204 | 891 | 898 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 5 | 5 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 21 | 91 | 92 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 2 | 2 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 22 | 103 | 103 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 8 | 30 | 41 |
| Total | 336 | 100 | 00 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 30 | 72 | 303 | 405 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 30 | 72 | 303 | 405 |
| Completed in less than four years | 23 | 58 | 257 | 338 |
| Completed in less than five years | 1 | 5 | 15 | 21 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 0 | 6 | 7 |
| Total completers | 25 | 63 | 278 | 366 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.83% | 0.88% | 0.92% | 0.9% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 49 | 81 | 234 | 364 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 49 | 81 | 234 | 364 |
| Completed in less than four years | 40 | 65 | 180 | 285 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 5 | 24 | 32 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 1 | 4 | 6 |
| Total completers | 44 | 71 | 208 | 323 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.9% | 0.88% | 0.89% | 0.89% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 88.30% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2245 | 3252 | Not reported | 5,497 |
| Admitted | 968 | 1661 | Not reported | 2,629 |
| Enrolled | 141 | 193 | Not reported | 334 |
| Enrolled full-time | 141 | 193 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:39
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:6
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History2
Computer Science1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | Yes | — |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
Entrance Exams
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 14 | 48 |
| ACT | 15 | 51 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1310 | 1385 | 1460 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 645 | 700 | 740 |
| SAT math | 648 | 690 | 733 |
| ACT composite | 30 | 32 | 33 |
| ACT math | 28 | 31 | 32 |
| ACT English | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80054.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69939.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5996.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80047.9
SAT Math: 600-69941.7
SAT Math: 500-59910.4
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160047.9
SAT Composite: 1200-139950
SAT Composite: 1000-11992.1
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3673.3
ACT Composite: 24-2922.2
ACT Composite: 18-234.4
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class40
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class70
Percent in top half of high school graduating class94
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class5
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent who had GPA of 4.010.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9945
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7421.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.247.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.994.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.4
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Priority Date: Month11
Priority Date: Day15
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
1 TABLEDescribe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:American Council on Education (ACE) College Level Examination Program (CLEP) DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST) If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: - E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for - [ ] X Accelerated program - [ ] X Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilities - [ ] X Cross-registration - [ ] Distance learning - [ ] X Double major - [ ] X Dual enrollment - [ ] English as a Second Language (ESL) - X Exchange student program (domestic) - [ ] External degree program - [ ] X Honors Program - [ ] X Independent study - [ ] X Internships - [ ] X Liberal arts/career combination - [ ] X Student-designed major - [ ] X Study abroad - [ ] Teacher certification program - [ ] X Undergraduate Research - [ ] Weekend college - [ ] Other (specify): - E2 Has been removed from the CDS. - E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: - [x] X Arts/fine arts - [ ] Computer literacy - [ ] English (including composition) - [ ] Foreign languages - [ ] History - [ ] Physical Education - [x] X Humanities - [ ] Intensive writing - [ ] Mathematics - [ ] Philosophy - [x] X Sciences (biological or physical) - [ ] X Social science - [ ] X Other (describe): ##
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Arts/fine artsX
HumanitiesX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Describe:## E. ACADEMIC OFFERINGS AND POLICIES
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)69%
Percent of males who join fraternities19%
Percent of females who join sororities9%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)64%
Percent of males who join fraternities19%
Percent of females who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing72%
Percent who live off campus or commute28%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18.3
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.3
Average age of full-time students19.9
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19.9
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESIf your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
10 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 139 | 612 | 11 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 17755 | 16330 | 6071 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Federal$1,111,575
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$805,046
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$31,400,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$247,901
Total Scholarships/Grants$33,316,621
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,235,110
Federal Work-Study$981,067
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$765,917
Total Self-Help$3,982,094
Parent Loans$1,314,599
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$80,685
Federal$805,046
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$31,400,000
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$9,936,021
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$247,901
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,183,922
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$536,527
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,000
Total Self-Help$538,527
Parent Loans$1,314,599
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$677,172
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 336 | 1450 | 43 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 238 | 837 | 10 |
| Determined to have financial need | 172 | 725 | 10 |
| Awarded any aid | 172 | 725 | 10 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 155 | 676 | 9 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 153 | 629 | 7 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 32 | 108 | 2 |
| Need fully met | 27 | 114 | 1 |
| Average percentage of need met | 91.2 | 91.3 | 82.7 |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 41434 | 42642 | 31146 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 4983 | 5604 | 7076 |
| Average need-based loan | 2510 | 3158 | 4410 |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 134 | 42.94 | 19217 |
| Federal loan programs | 134 | 42.94 | 15253 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 15 | 4.80 | 35407 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
CSS ProfileX
Noncustodial ProfileX
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):1
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):15
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 162 | 23 | 185 |
| Members of minority groups | 33 | 4 | 37 |
| Females | 79 | 12 | 91 |
| Males | 83 | 11 | 94 |
| Nonresidents | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 155 | 21 | 176 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 6 | 2 | 8 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
based on ____ students1
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 12 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 24 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 11 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.81% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.13% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.78% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 7.24% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 7.24% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.30% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 15.20% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 3.40% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.80% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.40% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.50% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.00% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 21.70% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 9.30% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.50% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 5.70% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.