Westfield State University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Westfield State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Apr 15, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$57,346
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
54%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,721
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,457
federal loans only
FSA
13%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
459numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESStreet Address Line 1:577 Western Ave.
CityWestfield
StateMa
Zip1,086
Country:USA
Main Phone Number:(413) 572-5300
WWW Home Page Address:www.westfield.ma.edu
Admissions Email Address:admissions@westfield.ma.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://connect.westfield.ma.edu/apply/
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.westfield.ma.edu/offices/academic-affairs/office-belonging-inclusion-and-learning-bil
Enrollment And Persistence
7 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 349 | 338 | 18 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 105 | 119 | 12 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 936 | 1183 | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 1390 | 1640 | 54 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 2 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 1392 | 1643 | 54 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3 | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 16 | 53 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 167 | 146 | 7 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 186 | 203 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 118 | 178 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 304 | 381 | 14 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 1696 | 2024 | 68 | Not reported | 3788 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 57 | 179 | 8 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 40 | 113 | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 1 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 98 | 293 | 12 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 16 | 38 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 83 | 146 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 14 | 54 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 113 | 238 | 13 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 211 | 531 | 25 | Not reported | 767 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 1907 | 2555 | 93 | Not reported | 4555 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 10 | 31 | 36 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 120 | 488 | 510 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 53 | 233 | 238 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 483 | 2421 | 2471 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 5 | 6 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 15 | 77 | 80 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 1 | 1 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 22 | 116 | 118 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 9 | 109 | 328 |
| Total | 712 | 3481 | 3788 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 893 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 272 |
| Post-master's certificates | 24 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 354 | 250 | 404 | 1008 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 354 | 250 | 404 | 1008 |
| Completed in less than four years | 132 | 117 | 196 | 445 |
| Completed in less than five years | 30 | 25 | 38 | 93 |
| Completed in less than six years | 5 | 1 | 9 | 15 |
| Total completers | 167 | 143 | 243 | 553 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 47% | 57% | 60% | 55% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2016% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 70.7% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2606 | 3535 | 132 | 6,273 |
| Admitted | Not reported | 2011 | 2956 | 6,273 |
| Enrolled | 98 | Not reported | 350 | 5,065 |
| Enrolled full-time | 3 | 4 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 337 | 18 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied712
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted4,919
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled3,960
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied602
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted1,205
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled1,076
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied91
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted168
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled35
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who applied19
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 10 | 68 |
| ACT | 0 | 0 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 490 | 565 | 618 |
| SAT math | 480 | 535 | 600 |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8004.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69932.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59935.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49923.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3993
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2991.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8000
SAT Math: 600-69927.9
SAT Math: 500-59942.6
SAT Math: 400-49926.5
SAT Math: 300-3993
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.028
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.999
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.497
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9918
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.4910
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.015
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.999
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7413
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9924
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.4917
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.016
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.999
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7414
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9923
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.4916
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.24
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
Application closing date (fall): Month3
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month5
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day1
Amount of housing deposit:150
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 academic year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 203 | 291 | Not reported | 518 |
| Admitted | 179 | 260 | Not reported | 461 |
| Enrolled | 114 | 159 | Not reported | 285 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants: N/A
Fall Closing Date: Month15
Spring Closing Date: Month15
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
3 TABLESAverage age of full-time students19.5
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19.5
Average age of full-time students21.8
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.8
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 7050 | 7050 |
| Tuition: in-district | 970 | 970 |
| Tuition: in-state | 970 | 970 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 7050 | 7050 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 10912 | 10912 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 12894 | 12894 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 8550 | 8550 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 4742 | 4742 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1140 | 1140 | 1140 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 12894 |
| Transportation | 1166 | 2285 | 2285 |
| Other expenses | 1998 | 2067 | 2067 |
NONRESIDENTS:$354
Financial Aid
8 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 2226.64 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$6,691,813
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$6,278,327
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,442,763
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$526,961
Total Scholarships/Grants$16,939,864
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$17,308,616
Federal Work-Study$533,129
Total Self-Help$17,841,746
Parent Loans$1,396,448
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$449,262
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,805,755
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$286,303
Total Scholarships/Grants$2,541,320
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$9,474,706
Total Self-Help$9,474,706
Parent Loans$2,233,535
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 415 | 1545 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 395 | 1277 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 48 | 235 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 60.72 | 62.09 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.503
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month3
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details: Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 196 | 246 | 442 |
| Members of minority groups | 43 | 25 | 68 |
| Females | 100 | 143 | 243 |
| Males | 96 | 103 | 199 |
| Nonresidents | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 178 | 59 | 237 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 16 | 127 | 143 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 15 | 15 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 2 | 37 | 39 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 7 | 0 | 7 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio14
based on ____ students3,843
and ____ faculty278
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 92 | 38 |
| 10-19 students | 92 | 38 |
| 20-29 students | 356 | 64 |
| 30-39 students | 350 | 3 |
| 40-49 students | 43 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 7 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 4 | 0 |
| Total | 0 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 75% | Not reported | 10.1% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.8% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 4.2% | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 8.3% | Not reported | 4.4% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 8.3% | Not reported | 15.3% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 4.2% | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 12.5% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 15.5% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.