Western Washington University
2012-13
The 2012-13 Common Data Set for Western Washington University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$62,569
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
65%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$21,193
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,500
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
187numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.wwu.edu/upb/Surveys/surveys.shtml
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Quarter
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 185 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 50 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2042 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 9 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 165 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 216 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 11 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 2688 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 92 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3195 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 18 |
| Master's degrees | 344 |
| Post-master's certificates | 1 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2425 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2425 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 875 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 1671 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 68.9% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2365 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2365 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 944 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 1724 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 72.9% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2008 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 2008 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 4027 | 5764 | Not reported | 9,791 |
| Admitted | 3128 | 4671 | Not reported | 7,799 |
| Enrolled | 1108 | 1552 | Not reported | 2,660 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1552 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 11 | 17 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
History0
Academic electives0.5
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts0.5
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | — | Yes | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 91 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 510 | 610 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 22 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 22 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 21 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class23
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class55
Percent in top half of high school graduating class89
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class11
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7425.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4925.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2417.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.998.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.45
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year (freshman) students one year or more before high school graduation?
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1251 | 1151 | Not reported | 2402 |
| Admitted | 826 | 844 | Not reported | 1670 |
| Enrolled | 507 | 459 | Not reported | 966 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
College transcript(s)Required of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Minimum of 2.0 GPA required in the quarters prior to application review and Page 13
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month1
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month2
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Spring Notification Date: Day1
Student Life
3 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)13%
Percent who live off campus or commute7%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent who live off campus or commute71%
Percent of students age 25 and older8%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
DanceX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:http://www.finaid.wwu.edu/finaid/npc/npcalc.htm
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Minimum2
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2012-2013 estimated
Federal$15,529,082
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,926,423
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,728,949
Total Scholarships/Grants$36,888,731
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$33,581,027
Federal Work-Study$658,442
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,578,587
Total Self-Help$35,818,056
Parent Loans$8,221,468
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$5,899,481
Athletic Awards$411,488
Federal$140,700
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$532,218
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$929,674
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,630,186
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$14,861,708
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$14,861,708
Parent Loans$27,968,135
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,406,598
Athletic Awards$960,906
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):20
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 22 Common Data Set 2012-2013
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEbased on ____ students2,012
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 5.5% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 5.7% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 6.2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.1% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5.9% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 13.6% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.