Western Michigan University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Western Michigan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 31, 2022. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2021-22 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$53,562
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
58%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$15,273
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$26,188
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
254numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESFirst Name:W illiam M.
Last Name:McQuitty
Title:Institutional Research Analyst
Office:Office of Institutional Research
Address Line 1:2002 W Michigan Ave
Phone:(269) 387-4431
Email Address:william .m .m cquitty@wm ich.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
City:Kalam azoo MI 49008-5253 USA
Name of College/University:W estern Michigan University
Street Address Line 1:1903 W Michigan Ave
CityKalam azoo MI 49008-5200 USA
Main Phone Number:(269) 387-1000
WWW Home Page Address:wm ich.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(269) 387-2000
Admissions Email Address:If there is a separate URL for your wm ich.edu/apply
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1032 | 1052 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 432 | 459 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 4593 | 4556 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 37 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 198 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 155 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1541 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 7 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 44 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 82 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 46 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 2112 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3551 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 64 |
| Master's degrees | 1210 |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 116 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 8 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | 2017 | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 8212 | 10641 | Not reported | 18,853 |
| Admitted | 6650 | 8962 | Not reported | 15,612 |
| Enrolled | 1032 | 1052 | Not reported | 2,021 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1052 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 11 | 17 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled2,020
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled2,021
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled2,020
Total academic units4
Mathematics3
Science3
Social studies3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | Yes | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 37.1 | 783 |
| ACT | 6.7 | 142 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1000 | 1100 | 1200 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 510 | 560 | 620 |
| SAT math | 490 | 550 | 600 |
| ACT composite | 21 | 24 | 27 |
| ACT math | 21 | 24 | 27 |
| ACT English | 20 | 24 | 27 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class15.9
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class40.3
Percent who had GPA of 4.014.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9918.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7417.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2413.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9918.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.1
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Amount of application fee:40
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month6
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:| | |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESHigh school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Applicants with less than 26 semester hours of transferable work completed must also submit a high school transcript or an official GED score. -
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:All WMU military/veteran students submitting the DD214 or an official JST will receive a military block of 9 credit hours for basic training, which shall include two credit hours for Area VIII Health and Well-Being of the General Education Program and deems this requirement satisfied. Additional credit hours may be granted for various ACE recommended, faculty approved courses listed on the Joint Services Transcript (JST). ##
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Describe:U.S. Cultures and Non-western Cultures
Student Life
3 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)24%
Percent who live off campus or commute20%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)21%
Percent who live off campus or commute67%
Percent of students age 25 and older6%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:[https://wmich.edu/finaid/NetPriceCalculator/npcalc.htm](https://wmich.edu/finaid/NetPriceCalculator/npcalc.htm)
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 13334 | 13334 |
| Tuition: in-state | 13334 | 13334 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 16668 | 16668 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 16668 | 16668 |
| Required fees | 100 | 100 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
In-district:$556
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 737 | 2909 | 108 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$21,721,476
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$31,517,200
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,121,308
Total Scholarships/Grants$59,831,222
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$51,637,553
Federal Work-Study$563,243
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$52,200,796
Parent Loans$8,682,450
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,044,383
Athletic Awards$1,767,385
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$12,472,928
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,144,916
Total Scholarships/Grants$15,617,844
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$27,785,545
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$27,785,545
Parent Loans$11,511,137
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,343,908
Athletic Awards$4,519,715
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,025
If yes, starting date (Month):12
If yes, starting date (Day):10
ArtX
AthleticsX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandem ic? Ye s No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students887
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.05% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.69% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.29% |
| Communication/journalism | 12.50% | Not reported | 3.98% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.43% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 4.35% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 7.29% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.20% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.12% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.08% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.21% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.91% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.24% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.48% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 6.57% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.04% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.29% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 12.50% | Not reported | 1.07% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.46% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.83% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.49% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.71% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.35% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 25.00% | Not reported | 6.57% |
| Health professions and related programs | 50.00% | Not reported | 11.53% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 23.41% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.40% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.