Western Michigan University

2008-09

The 2008-09 Common Data Set for Western Michigan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 6, 2017. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

84.9%

Applications

12,884

Admitted

10,938

Enrolled

3,806

ACT Composite

20-25

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$53,562
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
58%
6-year completion
Average net price
$15,273
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$26,188
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report160numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?No
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.wmich.edu/ir
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

3 TABLES
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents93Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino323Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic3082Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic35Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic75Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total38289999
Graduation Rates
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2005Not reported
Final cohort200513
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate73%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied60266858Not reported12,884
Admitted49795959Not reported10,938
Enrolled18721934Not reported3,806
Enrolled full-timeNot reported1934Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time913Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units15
English4
Total academic units18
English4
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT969
ACT969
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT composite20Not reported25
ACT math19Not reported25
ACT English19Not reported25
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2419.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9932.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100.0
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:35
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Must reply by (date)X
Date: Month5
Date: Day1
Amount of housing deposit:500
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 semester

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Official transcripts of all colleges attended. -
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing88%
Percent who live off campus or commute12%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)5%
Percent of males who join fraternities4%
Percent of females who join sororities5%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older11%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2008-2009 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$13,828,518
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$8,500,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,280,539
Total Scholarships/Grants$25,448,046
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$35,592,913
Federal Work-Study$1,063,009
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$280,683
Total Self-Help$36,936,605
Parent Loans$12,500,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$8,534,054
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,956,422
Total Scholarships/Grants$15,305,911
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$49,640,689
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$6,000,000
Total Self-Help$55,640,689
Parent Loans$12,218,859
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,695,991
Athletic Awards$4,520,524
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Institutional Aid
ArtX
AthleticsX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Beginning in Fall 2008, W MU m ade a signifcant com m itm ent to increased need based grants for undergraduates.

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio19
based on ____ students20,643
and ____ faculty1,102

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported0.2%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0.0%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported6.3%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.8%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported16.5%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported5.9%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.9%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.9%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.5%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported2.4%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported0.0%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.9%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.2%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported2.8%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported1.0%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.6%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.5%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported1.4%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.4%
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reported3.4%
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported5.8%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported6.0%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported24.4%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.9%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100%0.00%100.0%

Source Document