Western Michigan University

2007-08

The 2007-08 Common Data Set for Western Michigan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 6, 2017. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

86.3%

Applications

11,791

Admitted

10,179

Enrolled

3,475

ACT Composite

20-25

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$53,562
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
58%
6-year completion
Average net price
$15,273
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$26,188
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report180numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:1903 W. Michigan Ave
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

3 TABLES
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents33Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino271Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic2863Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic40Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic74Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-HispanicNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total350610000
Graduation Rates
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2004Not reported
Final cohort200413
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate75%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied54666325Not reported11,791
Admitted46115568Not reported10,179
Enrolled17251750Not reported3,475
Enrolled full-timeNot reported1750Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time1417Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language0
Social studies2
History1
Academic electives2
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
History1
Academic electives2
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT99
ACT963381
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT composite20Not reported25
ACT math19Not reported25
ACT English19Not reported24
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent in top half of high school graduating class31
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class31
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class4
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7413.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2420.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9930.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.1
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.23
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:35
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Must reply by (date)X
Date: Month5
Date: Day1
Amount of housing deposit:500
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 semester
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,007
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan8
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)7%
Percent of males who join fraternities6%
Percent of females who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing88%
Percent who live off campus or commute12%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)5%
Percent of males who join fraternities4%
Percent of females who join sororities6%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older9%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21

Financial Aid

6 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2007-2008 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$12,000,000
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,400,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$18,400,000
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$34,000,000
Federal Work-Study$800,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$350,000
Total Self-Help$35,150,000
Parent Loans$15,000,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$16,000,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,000,000
Total Scholarships/Grants$23,000,000
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$33,000,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$6,000,000
Total Self-Help$39,000,000
Parent Loans$15,000,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,400,000
Athletic Awards$4,600,000
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:100
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Institutional Aid
ArtX
AthleticsX
State/district residencyX

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio19
based on ____ students20,372
and ____ faculty1,060

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reported0.2%Not reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reported0.0%Not reported
Communication/journalismNot reported6.3%Not reported
Communication technologiesNot reported0.0%Not reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reported1.7%Not reported
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reported19.0%Not reported
EngineeringNot reported5.3%Not reported
Engineering technologiesNot reported0.6%Not reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reported2.5%Not reported
EnglishNot reported2.4%Not reported
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reported0.0%Not reported
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reported3.2%Not reported
Mathematics and statisticsNot reported0.4%Not reported
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reported2.3%Not reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reported0.6%Not reported
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reported4.2%Not reported
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reported0.4%Not reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reported3.4%Not reported
Visual and performing artsNot reported5.7%Not reported
Health professions and related programsNot reported6.3%Not reported
Business/marketingNot reported23.6%Not reported
HistoryNot reported0.8%Not reported
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.00%
Bachelors

Source Document