Western Kentucky University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Western Kentucky University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$43,889
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
56%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$10,990
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,095
federal loans only
FSA
14%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
357numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESFirst Name:Stefanie
Last Name:Estes
Title:Research Analyst
Office:Office of Institutional Research
Phone:(270) 745-3250
Email Address:institutional.research@wku.edu
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.wku.edu/instres/publications.php
Main Phone Number:(270) 745-0111
WWW Home Page Address:www.wku.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(270)745-2551
Admissions Email Address:admission@wku.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://acsapps.wku.edu/pls/prod/twbkwbis.P_GenMenu?name=wkumenu.P_AdmUnsecMnu
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree -- otherX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 10 | 103 | 115 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 154 | 651 | 783 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 240 | 1088 | 1157 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2068 | 9321 | 11167 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 11 | 29 | 32 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 88 | 340 | 466 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 13 | 13 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 122 | 473 | 546 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 60 | 131 | 161 |
| Total | 2755 | 12149 | 14440 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 353 |
| Associate degrees | 166 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 2794 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 700 |
| Post-master's certificates | 15 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 19 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1061 | 435 | 1382 | 2878 |
| Did not persist | 2 | 2 | 2 | 6 |
| Final cohort | 1059 | 433 | 1380 | 2872 |
| Completed in less than four years | 283 | 160 | 709 | 1152 |
| Completed in less than five years | 115 | 49 | 163 | 327 |
| Completed in less than six years | 30 | 10 | 31 | 71 |
| Total completers | 428 | 219 | 903 | 1550 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 40.4% | 50.6% | 65.4% | 54.0% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 76.6% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2726 | 4779 | Not reported | 7,505 |
| Admitted | 2622 | 4654 | Not reported | 7,276 |
| Enrolled | 1014 | 1705 | Not reported | 2,719 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1705 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 15 | 21 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units2
Foreign language2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 7 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 990 | 1060 | 1160 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 500 | 540 | 590 |
| SAT math | 480 | 530 | 580 |
| ACT composite | 18 | 21 | 25 |
| ACT math | 17 | 20 | 24 |
| ACT English | 17 | 21 | 25 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8002.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69919
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59954.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49921.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3992.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-8003.8
SAT Math: 600-69917.5
SAT Math: 500-59947.4
SAT Math: 400-49927.5
SAT Math: 300-3993.8
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 1400-16002.4
SAT Composite: 1200-139918
SAT Composite: 1000-119953.6
SAT Composite: 800-99923.2
SAT Composite: 600-7992.9
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-367.4
ACT Composite: 24-2925.3
ACT Composite: 18-2345.9
ACT Composite: 12-1721.2
ACT Composite: 6-110.2
ACT Composite: Below 60
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class21.9
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class5.2
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:36.2
Percent who had GPA of 4.010.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9928.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9912.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.0
Percent who had GPA below 1.00.0
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 502 | 787 | Not reported | 1289 |
| Admitted | 492 | 774 | Not reported | 1266 |
| Enrolled | 322 | 435 | Not reported | 757 |
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:http://catalog.wku.edu/graduate/student-services/student-services.pdf
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)29%
Percent of males who join fraternities17%
Percent of females who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing81%
Percent who live off campus or commute19%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)27%
Percent of males who join fraternities18%
Percent of females who join sororities17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing36%
Percent who live off campus or commute64%
Percent of students age 25 and older11%
Average age of full-time students18.3
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.3
Average age of full-time students20.6
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21.5
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.wku.edu/financialaid/costinfo/calculator.php
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 11112 | 11112 |
| Tuition: in-state | 11112 | 11112 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 27072 | 27072 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 27720 | 27720 |
| Required fees | 11072 | 11072 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 967 | 4135 | 4135 |
| Other expenses | 2264 | 2264 | 5530 |
In-district:$463
In-state (out-of-district):$1,128
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2022-2023 estimated
Federal$19,897,489
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,181,841
Total Scholarships/Grants$29,320,945
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$15,505,452
Federal Work-Study$1,063,466
Total Self-Help$16,568,918
Federal$2,511,761
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$46,507,904
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,776,440
Total Scholarships/Grants$64,185,484
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$28,773,227
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,240,900
Total Self-Help$32,014,127
Parent Loans$9,361,256
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,834,903
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,764
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:WKU restructured its scholarship programs and as a result more incoming freshmen will qualify for scholarships than have in the past. Common Data Set 2022-2023
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 642 | 297 | 939 |
| Members of minority groups | 134 | 30 | 164 |
| Females | 337 | 187 | 524 |
| Males | 305 | 110 | 415 |
| Nonresidents | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 509 | 78 | 587 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 128 | 170 | 298 |
| Bachelor's degree | 4 | 37 | 41 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 1 | 12 | 13 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18.13
based on ____ students13,434
and ____ faculty741
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 22 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 22 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 107 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 78 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 11 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 7 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 3 |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | 0.7% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.2% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 5.9% | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Law/legal studies | 1.2% | Not reported | 0.3% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 24.1% | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 0.6% | Not reported | 4.3% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 0.6% | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.2% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Social sciences | 5.1% | Not reported | 8.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 0.8% | Not reported | 4.9% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.