Western Carolina University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Western Carolina University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$49,458
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
60%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$13,315
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,868
federal loans only
FSA
13%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
188numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Trista
Last Name:Middleton
Title:Research Specialist
Office:Office of Institutional Planning and Effectiveness
Address Line 1:440HFR Administration Building
Zipcode28,723
Country:United States
Phone:828.23
Email Address:tymiddleton@wcu.edu
City:Cullowhee
StateNorth Carolina
Street Address Line 1:1 University Way
CityCullowhee
StateNorth Carolina
Zip28,723
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(828) 227-7211
WWW Home Page Address:www.wcu.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(828) 227-7317
Admissions Email Address:admiss@wcu.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.wcu.edu/discover/diversity/eodp/
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 864.0 | 1218.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 302.0 | 382.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2391.0 | 3005.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3557.0 | 4605.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 75.48% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 19,234 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 16,014 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied10,450
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted9,775
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied7,753
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted5,979
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied1,031
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted260
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
Computer Science4
Total academic units24
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
Computer Science8
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1055 | 1150 | 1240 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 540 | 590 | 645 |
| SAT math | 510 | 560 | 610 |
| ACT composite | 20 | 23 | 26 |
| ACT math | 18 | 22 | 25 |
| ACT English | 18 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8005.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69944
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59937.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49912
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8003.7
SAT Math: 600-69929.3
SAT Math: 500-59947.6
SAT Math: 400-49917.3
SAT Math: 300-3992.1
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16002.6
SAT Composite: 1200-139936.1
SAT Composite: 1000-119948.2
SAT Composite: 800-99912.6
SAT Composite: 600-7990.5
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-369.2
ACT Composite: 24-2936.6
ACT Composite: 18-2343.4
ACT Composite: 12-1710.8
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class15.5
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class38.2
Percent in top half of high school graduating class72.6
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class26.8
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class6
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:85
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.05.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2416.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9918
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.40
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
Application closing date (fall): Month2
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Priority Date: Month11
Priority Date: Day1
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1107 | 1640 | Not reported | 2747 |
| Admitted | 768 | 1184 | Not reported | 1952 |
| Enrolled | 437 | 619 | Not reported | 1056 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:| Required of Some | Required of Some | |--------------------|--------------------| | Required of All | | | Not Required | | | Not Required | | | Not Required | | | Required of All | | Yes ##
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Academic Offerings and Policies
1 TABLESocial scienceX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.wcu.edu/apply/financial-
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 1000.00 | 1000.00 |
| Tuition: in-state | 1000.00 | 1000.00 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 5000.00 | 5000.00 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 3630.00 | 3630.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | 6790.00 | 6790.00 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 4782.90 | 4782.90 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 457.64 | 457.64 | 457.64 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1614.60 | 1614.60 | 1614.60 |
| Other expenses | 1838.94 | 1838.94 | 1838.94 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 2.0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 2.7% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 8.7% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 5.6% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 6.1% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.7% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 18.9% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 22.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.