West Virginia University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for West Virginia University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$55,939
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
65%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$15,634
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,500
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
328numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.Admissions Toll-Free Phone Number:
Address Line 3:debbie.wilson@mail.wvu.edu
First Name:Research Analyst/ Data Coordinator
Last Name:Office of Institutionsl Research
Title:48 Donley Street, PO Box 6060
Office:Morgantown, WV, 26506, US
Address Line 1:304.293.4245
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?President's Office, PO Box 6201
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Main Phone Number:
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Postbachelor's certificate
If you have a mailing address other than the above to which applications should be sent, please provide:Post-master's certificate
Source of institutional control (Check only one):A5
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 408 | 537 | 112 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1,449 | 1,520 | 406 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 178 | 186 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 2,035 | 2,243 | 519 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | 76 | 1,291 | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 3,989 | 16,348 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 6 | 24 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 74 | 315 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | 2 | 18 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | 4,732 | 20,499 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | 190 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | 395 | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 877 | 2,746 | 4,991 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 265 | 1,094 | 1,737 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 169 | 537 | 914 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 35 | 124 | 219 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 469 | 1,755 | 2,870 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 0.54 | 0.64 | 0.58 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Recipients of a Subsidized Stafford Loan who did not receive a Pell Grant | Students who did not receive either a Pell Grant or a subsidized Stafford Loan | Total (sum of 3 columes to the left) |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 929 | 2,844 | 5,106 |
| Total | 0 | 2 | 4 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 59 |
| Associate degrees | 647 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 0.49 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESC8G · Entrance Exams
SATC8G
ACTC8G
APC8G
CLEPC8G
Institutional ExamC8G
State Exam (specify):C8G
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9,537 | Not reported | 7,306 | 16,843 |
| Admitted | 2,304 | 8 | Not reported | 2,312 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Yes | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who appliedx
Does your institution require or recommend a general college-preparatory program for degree-seeking students?C6
Open admission policy as described above for most students, but--C7
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:C17
EnglishVery Important
Foreign languagex
Social studiesx
EnglishImportant
Science2.0
Open admission policy as described above for all studentsC7
other (explain):C7
Explain:Work experience
InterviewADMISSION
Extracurricular activitiesRequire
Talent/abilityx
Please provide additional information if the importance of any specific academic or nonacademic factors differ by academic program.If your institution will make use of the SAT in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0.6 | Number submitting SAT scores |
| ACT | 0.7 | Number submitting ACT scores |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 20 | 26 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | SAT Math | Not reported |
| ACT English | 0.0 | 0.1 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | 0.3 | 0.2 | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 0.5 | 0.5 | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | 0.2 | 0.2 | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8000.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-6990.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5990.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total1.0
SAT Math: 700-8000.1
SAT Math: 600-6990.3
SAT Math: 500-5990.5
SAT Math: 400-4990.1
SAT Math: 300-3990.0
SAT Math: Total1
ACT English: 18-230.4
ACT English: 12-170.2
ACT English: 6-110.1
ACT English: Below 60.1
ACT English: Total0.1
Percent in top half of high school graduating class3.5
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.99Yes
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.49x
TotalYes
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.99No
TotalNo
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?x
Yes, by:C21
Yes, other:C21
Must reply by May 1st or within____weeks if notified afterC21
OtherC21
Refundable if student does not enroll?C21
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 784 | 1,764 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 536 | 1,208 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled | 312 | 683 | Not reported | Not reported |
FallD3
SpringD4
SummerD4
Fall Closing Date: Month05/01
Spring Notification Date: MonthYes
Spring Rpely Date: MonthNo
Spring Reply Date: DayNo
Fall Rolling Admissionx
NumberRecommended
of Some
Unit TypeRequired of Some
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:Yes
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:No
Describe other transfer credit policies:DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)
Unit TypeYes
Fall Closing Date:Day05/01
Spring Notification Date: DayYes
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programE1
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesE1
Cross-registrationE1
Distance learningE1
Double majorE1
Dual enrollmentE1
English as a Second Language (ESL)E1
Exchange student program (domestic)E1
External degree programE1
Honors ProgramE1
Independent studyE1
InternshipsE1
Liberal arts/career combinationE1
Student-designed majorE1
Study abroadE1
Teacher certification programE1
Other (specify):E2
Arts/fine artsE3
Computer literacyE3
English (including composition)E3
Foreign languagesE3
HistoryE3
Physical EducationE3
HumanitiesE3
Intensive writingE3
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesF2
Choral groupsF2
Concert bandF2
DanceF2
Drama/theaterF2
International Student OrganizationF2
Jazz bandF2
Literary magazineF2
Marching bandF2
Model UNF2
Music ensemblesF2
Musical theaterF2
OperaF2
Pep bandF2
Radio stationF2
Student governmentF2
Student newspaperF2
Student-run film societyF2
Symphony orchestraF2
Television stationF2
YearbookF2
Coed residence hallsF4
Men's residence halls (Men)F4
Women's residence halls (Females)F4
Apartments for married studentsF4
Apartments for single studentsF4
Special housing for disabled studentsF4
Special housing for international studentsF4
Fraternity/sorority housingF4
Cooperative housingF4
Theme housingF4
Wellness housingF4
Living Learning CommunitiesF4
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:Provide 2019-2020 academic year costs of attendance for the following categories that are applicable to your institution.
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:Undergraduate full-time tuition, required fees, room and board List the typical tuition, required fees, and room and board for a full-time undergraduate student for the FULL 2019-2020 academic year (30 semester or 45 quarter hours for institutions that derive annual tuition by multiplying credit hour cost by number of credits). A full academic year refers to the period of time generally extending from September to June; usually equated to two semesters, two trimesters, three quarters, or the period covered by a four-one-four plan. Room and board is defined as double occupancy and 19 meals per week or the maximum meal plan. Required fees include only charges that all full-time students must pay that are not included in tuition (e.g., registration, health, or activity fees.) Do not include optional fees (e.g., parking, laboratory use).
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | $8,976 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | $25,320 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
If yes, what percentage of full-time undergraduates pay more than the tuition and fees reported in $G$1?x
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Commuters (living at home) | Commuters (not living at home) |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $950 |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | $5,830 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | $1,400 | $2,750 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLESFederal$4,660
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$3,140
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,140
Total Scholarships/Grants$2,550
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,177
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,456
Total Self-Help$419
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$62
Federal$6,394
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$10,783
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$10,783
Total Scholarships/Grants$7,935
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$8,305
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$4,207
Total Self-Help$1,160
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$65
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | Not reported | 3,155 | 4,225 |
| Determined to have financial need | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | First-time Full-time Freshmen | Full-time Undergrad (Incl. Fresh.) |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | $1,077 | $3,344 |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.Average per-undergraduate-borrower cumulative principal borrowed from the types of loans specified in the first column (nearest $1)
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 2,195 | 1% | $26,870 |
| Federal loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 28 | 0% | $4,005 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableH6
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableH6
Institutional scholarship or grant aid is not availableH6
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:102
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$6,204
Institution’s own financial aid formH6
Other (specify):H7
Specify:Institution’s own financial aid form
CSS ProfileH8
State aid formH8
Noncustodial ProfileH8
Business/Farm SupplementH8
Other (specify):H8
Specify:Noncustodial PROFILE
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:Indicate filing dates for first-year (freshman) students:
No deadline for filing required forms (applications processed on a rolling basis)Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:
a) Students notified on or about (date): MonthStudents notified on a rolling basis:
a) Students notified on or about (date): DayStudents notified on a rolling basis:
Federal Direct Subsidized Stafford LoansH12
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford LoansH12
Federal Direct PLUS LoansH12
Federal Nursing LoansH12
Other (specify):H13
Specify:NEED-BASED:
Federal Pell GrantsH13
Federal SEOGH13
State scholarships/grantsH13
Private scholarshipsH13
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsH13
Other (specify):H14
Academicsx
Alumni affiliationx
Athleticsx
Job skillsx
ROTCx
Music/dramax
Music/dramax
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEbased on ____ students165
and ____ faculty6
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Diploma/ Certificates% | Associate% | Bachelor’s% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.