Wellesley College
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Wellesley College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 12, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Wellesley College says 8,714 first-year students applied and 1,224 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 14%. 583 admitted students enrolled (48% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1470–1550 and ACT of 33–35. Waitlist: 2,495 offered a spot, 1,299 accepted one, and 34 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 8,714 | 1,224 | 14% | 583 | School-reported totals. |
52% joined after being offered a spot. 3% of students who joined were admitted. 29% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 2,495 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 1,299 |
| Admitted from wait list | 34 |
| Joined after being offered | 52% |
| Admitted after joining | 3% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
This school marks applicant interest as Considered. Read yield and wait-list behavior with that policy in mind.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2 | 581 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | 15 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1 | 1698 | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3 | 2294 | 0 | 2 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | 11 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 3 | 2305 | 0 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 39 | 57 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 39 | 58 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 42 | 2363 | Not reported | 2 | 2407 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 42 | 2363 | 0 | 2 | 2407 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 78 | 307 | 316 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 61 | 331 | 332 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 30 | 194 | 199 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 185 | 686 | 714 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 176 | 591 | 607 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 5 | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 48 | 177 | 186 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 3 | 7 | 46 |
| Total | 583 | 2300 | 2407 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 583 | 2299 | 1 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 0 | 8714 | 0 | 0 | 8,714 |
| Admitted | 0 | 1224 | 0 | 0 | 1,224 |
| Enrolled full-time | 0 | 583 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 583 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 43 | 248 |
| ACT | 18 | 106 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1470 | 1520 | 1550 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 730 | 770 | 790 |
| ACT composite | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT math | 29 | 32 | 34 |
| ACT English | 34 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
1 TABLEFinancial Aid
9 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 0 | 4 | 0 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 0 | 51007 | 0 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 583 | 2299 | 1 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 390 | 1465 | 1 |
| Determined to have financial need | 309 | 1271 | 1 |
| Awarded any aid | 309 | 1262 | 1 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 304 | 1245 | 1 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 300 | 1210 | 1 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 6 | 26 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 228 | 878 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 68625 | 69116 | 43850 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 66603 | 66842 | 40307 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 2964 | 3311 | 3543 |
| Average need-based loan | 1330 | 1718 | 3542 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 300 | 38 | 338 |
| Members of minority groups | 86 | 9 | 95 |
| Females | 188 | 26 | 214 |
| Males | 112 | 12 | 124 |
| Nonresidents | 8 | 1 | 9 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 284 | 32 | 316 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 15 | 5 | 20 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 98 | 28 |
| 10-19 students | 98 | 28 |
| 20-29 students | 248 | 81 |
| 30-39 students | 145 | 1 |
| 40-49 students | 18 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 2 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 1 | 0 |
| Total | 0 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.03% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.01% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.06% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.12% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.01% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.05% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.06% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.03% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.06% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.23% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.01% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.