Wellesley College
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Wellesley College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$84,803
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
92%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$25,496
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$10,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
442numbers from this report.
General Information
8 TABLESFirst Name:Rachael
Last Name:Coombes
Title:Associate Director of Institutional Research
Office:Office of Institutional Research
Address Line 1:106 Central Street
Zipcode2,481
Phone:781-283-3273
Email Address:oir@wellesley.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
City:W ellesley
StateMA
Name of College/University:W ellesley College
Street Address Line 1:106 Central Street
CityW ellesley, MA 02481-8203, USA
Main Phone Number (Area Code)781
Main Phone Number:283-1000
WWW Home Page Address:www.wellesley.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):781
Admissions Phone Number:283-2270
Admissions Email Address:admission@wellesley.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Men's college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Bachelor'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2447 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2447 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 92 | 340 | 353 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 87 | 356 | 357 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 44 | 179 | 182 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 171 | 766 | 788 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 3 | 3 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 137 | 532 | 549 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 51 | 166 | 172 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 2 | 11 | 43 |
| Total | 586 | 2353 | 2447 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 563 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 114 | 86 | 391 | 591 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 114 | 86 | 390 | 590 |
| Completed in less than four years | 96 | 70 | 319 | 485 |
| Completed in less than five years | 8 | 5 | 26 | 39 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 2 | 5 | 8 |
| Total completers | 105 | 77 | 350 | 532 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 92% | 90% | 90% | 90% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 95.02% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?Yes
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?Yes
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:2,578
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:1,304
Number of wait-listed students admitted:44
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language4
Social studies4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 40 | 234 |
| ACT | 21 | 122 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1440 | 1490 | 1540 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 720 | 740 | 770 |
| SAT math | 710 | 750 | 780 |
| ACT composite | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT math | 29 | 32 | 34 |
| ACT English | 34 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80085.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69912.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5991.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80080.8
SAT Math: 600-69916.7
SAT Math: 500-5991.7
SAT Math: 400-4990.9
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160086.3
SAT Composite: 1200-139912.4
SAT Composite: 1000-11990.9
SAT Composite: 800-9990.4
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3697.5
ACT Composite: 24-291.6
ACT Composite: 18-230.8
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Total0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:0
Does your institution have an application fee?No
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 0 | 241 | 0 | 241 |
| Admitted | 0 | 43 | 0 | 43 |
| Enrolled | 0 | 20 | 0 | 20 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2021-2022
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Other (specify):X
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)87%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)85%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing91%
Percent who live off campus or commute9%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESIf your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Minimum20
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
9 TABLESH2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 586 | 2349 | 4 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 392 | 1511 | 3 |
| Determined to have financial need | 309 | 1314 | 3 |
| Awarded any aid | 309 | 1288 | 3 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 301 | 1263 | 3 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 299 | 1217 | 3 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2 | 18 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 309 | 1288 | 3 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 63771 | 64177 | 51085 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 62395 | 62132 | 45118 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3091 | 3440 | 5967 |
| Average need-based loan | 1306 | 1626 | 4500 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.532
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 217 | 41.00 | 18512 |
| Federal loan programs | 195 | 37.00 | 10630 |
| Institutional loan programs | 126 | 24.00 | 7608 |
| State loan programs | 5 | 1.00 | 17131 |
| Private student loans | 22 | 4.00 | 40910 |
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:80
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$82,892
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$6,631,334
Institution’s own financial aid formX
CSS ProfileX
Other (specify):X
Specify:Parents' most recent tax return or statement of earnings
FAFSAX
Noncustodial ProfileX
Other (specify):X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month1
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 307 | 37 | 344 |
| Members of minority groups | 83 | 7 | 90 |
| Females | 190 | 26 | 216 |
| Males | 117 | 11 | 128 |
| Nonresidents | 9 | 2 | 11 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 291 | 29 | 320 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 15 | 8 | 23 |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio7
based on ____ students2,391
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 234 | 40 |
| 10-19 students | 234 | 40 |
| 20-29 students | 263 | 63 |
| 30-39 students | 120 | 2 |
| 40-49 students | 23 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 2 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 0 | 0 |
| Total | 0 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 7% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0% | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 25% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.01% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.