Wayne State University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Wayne State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Aug 25, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2025-26 report, Wayne State University says 17,263 first-year students applied and 14,430 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 84%. 3,071 admitted students enrolled (21% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1060–1290 and ACT of 23–28. Compared with 2024-25, applications fell 2.5% (17,699 to 17,263) and the acceptance rate went from 78% to 84%.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 17,263 | 14,430 | 84% | 3,071 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $25. Fee waivers are reported as available.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1,132 | 1,609 | 229 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 324 | 412 | 67 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3,542 | 5,075 | 663 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 4,998 | 7,096 | 959 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 21 | 34 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 5,019 | 7,130 | 959 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 49 | 44 | 8 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 48 | 62 | 13 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 1,072 | 1,403 | 148 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 1,169 | 1,509 | 169 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 115 | 296 | 24 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 1,284 | 1,805 | 193 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 16,390 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 561 | 822 | 33 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1,429 | 2,260 | 36 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 3 | 8 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 1,993 | 3,090 | 69 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 193 | 432 | 20 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 703 | 1,204 | 30 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 22 | 21 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 918 | 1,657 | 51 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7,778 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 7,012 | 10,220 | 1,028 | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 2,202 | 3,462 | 244 | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 24,168 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 91 | 388 | 394 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 299 | 1,278 | 1,363 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 628 | 3,005 | 3,141 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,409 | 8,067 | 8,265 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 6 | 25 | 26 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 469 | 2,360 | 2,395 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 144 | 703 | 723 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 25 | 69 | 78 |
| Total | 3,071 | 15,900 | 16,390 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3,749 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 123 |
| Master's degrees | 1,713 |
| Post-master's certificates | 69 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 224 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 591 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,322 | 348 | 1,203 | 2,873 |
| Did not persist | 3 | 1 | 1 | 5 |
| Final cohort | 1,319 | 347 | 1,202 | 2,868 |
| Completed in less than four years | 415 | 134 | 546 | 1,095 |
| Completed in less than five years | 207 | 68 | 193 | 468 |
| Completed in less than six years | 88 | 12 | 50 | 150 |
| Total completers | 710 | 214 | 789 | 1,713 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 53.8% | 61.7% | 65.6% | 59.7% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,370 | 346 | 1,241 | 2,957 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 1 | Not reported | 2 |
| Final cohort | 1,369 | 345 | 1,241 | 2,955 |
| Completed in less than four years | 409 | 128 | 526 | 1,063 |
| Completed in less than five years | 216 | 62 | 209 | 487 |
| Completed in less than six years | 90 | 22 | 65 | 177 |
| Total completers | 715 | 212 | 800 | 1,727 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 52.2% | 61.4% | 64.5% | 58.4% |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | 2,990 |
| Still enrolled next fall | 2,452 |
| Retention rate | 82% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC8D · Entrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 6,686 | 9,660 | 917 | 17,263 |
| Admitted | 5,502 | 8,231 | 697 | 14,430 |
| Enrolled | 1,181 | 1,653 | 237 | 3,071 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1,132 | 1,609 | 229 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 49 | 44 | 8 | Not reported |
C2 · Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | Yes | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 35.9 | 1,102 |
| ACT | 2.6 | 81 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,060 | 1,180 | 1,290 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 550 | 600 | 650 |
| SAT math | 510 | 580 | 640 |
| ACT composite | 23 | 25 | 28 |
| ACT math | 22 | 25 | 28 |
| ACT English | 21 | 24 | 29 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 23 | 25 | 30 |
| ACT Reading | 23 | 27 | 31 |
Transfer Admission
4 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1,311 | 2,144 | 609 | 4,064 |
| Admitted | 916 | 1,509 | 469 | 2,894 |
| Enrolled | 441 | 681 | 259 | 1,381 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
5 TABLESAnnual Expenses
7 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $14,188 | $15,513 |
| Tuition: in-state | $14,188 | $15,513 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $32,498 | $35,609 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $32,498 | $35,609 |
| Required fees | $2,298 | $2,048 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $12,844 | $12,844 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $7,992 | $7,992 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $5,052 | $5,052 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,370 | $1,370 | $1,370 |
| Food only | Not reported | $5,574 | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $12,268 |
| Transportation | $1,846 | $1,846 | $1,846 |
| Other expenses | $2,080 | $2,080 | $2,080 |
Financial Aid
14 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 789 | 2,718 | 133 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $6,144 | $5,981 | $4,882 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 63 | 238 | 2 |
| Average athletic grant | $9,464 | $14,606 | $13,937 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 3,071 | 13,053 | 2,847 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2,782 | 10,926 | 1,894 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2,237 | 9,285 | 1,683 |
| Awarded any aid | 2,228 | 9,171 | 1,493 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2,226 | 8,957 | 1,288 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 808 | 4,224 | 964 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 201 | 535 | 8 |
| Need fully met | 236 | 674 | 21 |
| Average percentage of need met | 62% | 53% | 30% |
| Average financial aid package | $17,077 | $16,268 | $8,130 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $15,186 | $14,057 | $6,316 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $10,532 | $11,406 | $9,472 |
| Average need-based loan | $4,809 | $6,811 | $8,451 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 894 | 47% | $25,616 |
| Federal loan programs | 872 | 45% | $20,366 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 179 | 9% | $28,728 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 967 | 636 | 1,603 |
| Members of minority groups | 309 | 163 | 472 |
| Females | 481 | 375 | 856 |
| Males | 486 | 261 | 747 |
| Nonresidents | 48 | 22 | 70 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 815 | 187 | 1,002 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 55 | 34 | 89 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 128 | 100 |
| 10-19 students | 292 | 152 |
| 20-29 students | 447 | 220 |
| 30-39 students | 225 | 59 |
| 40-49 students | 95 | 3 |
| 50-99 students | 129 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 52 | 0 |
| Total | 1,368 | 535 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 5.6% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 13.8% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 24.8% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.