Wayne State University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Wayne State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the school's HTTP Last-Modified header: Apr 3, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2022-23 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 16116 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7672 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 23788 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 74 | 315 | 329 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 212 | 1087 | 1110 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 445 | 2475 | 2528 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1257 | 8667 | 8828 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | 39 | 39 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 446 | 2241 | 2267 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 6 | 6 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 103 | 655 | 668 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 36 | 327 | 341 |
| Total | 2577 | 15812 | 16116 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3904 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 40 |
| Master's degrees | 1826 |
| Post-master's certificates | 174 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 218 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 597 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1008 | 300 | 1088 | 2396 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1008 | 300 | 1088 | 2396 |
| Completed in less than four years | 287 | 79 | 441 | 807 |
| Completed in less than five years | 209 | 63 | 226 | 498 |
| Completed in less than six years | 64 | 23 | 52 | 139 |
| Total completers | 560 | 165 | 719 | 1444 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 55.6% | 55.0% | 66.1% | 60.3% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1065 | 250 | 1004 | 2319 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1065 | 250 | 1004 | 2319 |
| Completed in less than four years | 218 | 78 | 378 | 674 |
| Completed in less than five years | 196 | 44 | 200 | 440 |
| Completed in less than six years | 89 | 23 | 67 | 179 |
| Total completers | 503 | 145 | 645 | 1293 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 47.23% | 58.00% | 64.24% | 55.76% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 83.70% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 5496 | 8506 | Not reported | 14,002 |
| Admitted | 4167 | 6380 | Not reported | 10,547 |
| Enrolled | 984 | 1475 | Not reported | 2,459 |
| Enrolled full-time | 984 | 1475 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 61 | 57 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | Yes | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 67 | 1726 |
| ACT | 6 | 150 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 980 | 1100 | 1220 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 500 | 560 | 620 |
| SAT math | 480 | 540 | 610 |
| ACT composite | 20 | 24.5 | 28 |
| ACT math | 19 | 24 | 27 |
| ACT English | 21 | 23 | 29 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
4 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1234 | 2174 | Not reported | 3408 |
| Admitted | 922 | 1670 | Not reported | 2592 |
| Enrolled | 612 | 908 | Not reported | 1520 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 12493 | 13660 |
| Tuition: in-state | 12493 | 13660 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 28615 | 31354 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 28615 | 31354 |
| Required fees | 2054 | 1804 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1316 | 1316 | 1316 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1426 | 3392 | 3392 |
| Other expenses | 2984 | 1958 | 2462 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 623 | 2806 | 192 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 5462 | 5334 | 2332 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 78 | 381 | 11 |
| Average athletic grant | 8810 | 10542 | 6417 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 2732 | 12877 | 3653 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2461 | 10531 | 2377 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2007 | 9048 | 2080 |
| Awarded any aid | 2001 | 8922 | 1881 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1540 | 6758 | 1390 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 754 | 4542 | 1130 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1776 | 6848 | 369 |
| Need fully met | 114 | 430 | 19 |
| Average percentage of need met | 56 | 52 | 31 |
| Average financial aid package | 13161 | 12539 | 5960 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 8803 | 8005 | 3964 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 4895 | 5745 | 4174 |
| Average need-based loan | 2958 | 4108 | 3998 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1097 | 57 | 26443.86 |
| Federal loan programs | 1073 | 55.39 | 22485 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 185 | 9.55 | 26392 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 962 | 637 | 1599 |
| Members of minority groups | 294 | 149 | 443 |
| Females | 474 | 374 | 848 |
| Males | 488 | 263 | 751 |
| Nonresidents | 32 | 19 | 51 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 832 | 154 | 986 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 52 | 30 | 82 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 176 | 88 |
| 10-19 students | 176 | 88 |
| 20-29 students | 500 | 90 |
| 30-39 students | 595 | 131 |
| 40-49 students | 326 | 43 |
| 50-99 students | 156 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 224 | 1 |
| Total | 61 | 354 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.34% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.46% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 3.53% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.97% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.75% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 5.18% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 5.42% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.72% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.36% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.22% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.82% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.29% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.86% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.92% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.67% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.48% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.84% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.01% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.69% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.47% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.77% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.60% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 14.74% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 25.22% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.68% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.