Washington State University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Washington State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 4, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$68,905
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
61%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$14,971
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,500
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
242numbers from this report.
Enrollment And Persistence
1 TABLEB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 13.94 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 10787 | Not reported | Not reported | 26,403 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 22,732 |
| Enrolled | 1957 | 2392 | Not reported | 4,420 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1957 | 2392 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 32 | 39 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied15,845
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted13,466
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled3,766
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied9,902
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted8,676
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled610
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied656
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted590
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled44
Total academic units17.00
English4.00
Mathematics3.00
Science3.00
Of these, units that must be lab2.00
Foreign language2.00
Social studies3.00
Computer Science1.00
Other (specify)1.00
Total academic units18.00
English4.00
Mathematics4.00
Science3.00
Of these, units that must be lab2.00
Foreign language2.00
Social studies3.00
Computer Science1.00
Other (specify)1.00
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Yes | — | — | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 6.24 | 276 |
| ACT | 1.11 | 49 |
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: Total100
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:400
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 Year
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESHigh school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://transfercredit.wsu.edu/transfer-credit-policies-resources/military-credit/
Academic Offerings and Policies
1 TABLEHonors ProgramX
Independent studyX
Student-designed majorX
Student Life
3 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent of males who join fraternities18%
Percent of females who join sororities20%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing79%
Percent who live off campus or commute21%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)12%
Percent of males who join fraternities18%
Percent of females who join sororities19%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing26%
Percent who live off campus or commute74%
Percent of students age 25 and older15%
Average age of full-time students18.7
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.7
Average age of full-time students21.7
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.3
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://financialaid.wsu.edu/price-calculator/
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 12063.00 | 12063.00 |
| Tuition: in-state | 12063.00 | 12063.00 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 29734.00 | 29734.00 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 29734.00 | 29734.00 |
| Required fees | 2298.00 | 2298.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 900.00 | 900.00 | 900.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1716.00 | 1716.00 | 1716.00 |
| Other expenses | 1968.00 | 1968.00 | 1968.00 |
Out-of-state:$1,516
Financial Aid
5 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 1312 | 4243 | 159 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 5300 | 5570 | 3751 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 41 | 192 | 41 |
| Average athletic grant | 25809 | 25338 | 13524 |
Federal$43,790,331
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$74,771,688
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$20,073,729
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,281,928
Total Scholarships/Grants$143,917,676
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$35,842,793
Federal Work-Study$709,435
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,744,152
Total Self-Help$38,296,380
Parent Loans$12,136,733
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$18,816,448
Athletic Awards$1,787,466
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$254,976
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,893,741
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,936,687
Total Scholarships/Grants$9,085,404
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$22,831,261
Total Self-Help$22,831,261
Parent Loans$30,612,667
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$21,019,658
Athletic Awards$5,303,786
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1253 | 44.00 | 24924 |
| Federal loan programs | 1185 | 41.00 | 18469 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 244 | 8.00 | 37728 |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:&RPPRQ'DWD6HW I. INST RUCTIONAL FACULT Y AND CLASS SIZE I-1. Please report the number of instructional faculty members in each category for Fall 202 . Include faculty who are on your institution’s payroll on the census date your institution uses for IPEDS/AAUP. The following definit ion of full-time instructional faculty is used by the American Associat ion of University Profes sors (AAUP) in its annual Fac ulty Compensation Survey (the part time definitions are not used by AAUP). Instructional Faculty is defined as those members of the instructional-research staff whose major regular assignment is instruction, including those with released time for research. Use the chart below to determine inclusions and exclus ions: Full-time Part- time Include only Instructional faculty in preclinical and clinical medicine, faculty w ho are not if they teach A paid (e. g., those who donat e their services or are in the military), or research- Excludeone or more only faculty, post-doctoral fellows, or pre-doctoral fellows no n-clin ica l credit courses Include if Administrative officers with titles such as dean of students, librar ian, registrar, they teach B coach, and the like, even though they may devote part of their time to Exclude one or more classroom instruction and may have faculty status no n-clin ica l credit courses C Other administrators/staff w ho teach one or more non-c linical credit courses Exclude Include even though they do not have faculty status D Undergraduate or graduate students w ho assist in the instruction of courses, ExcludeExclude but have titles such as teaching assistant, teaching fellow, and the like E Faculty on sabbat ical or leave with pay Include Exclude F Faculty on leave without pay Exclude Exclude G Replacement faculty for faculty on sabbatical leave or leave w ith payExclude Include )XOO WLPH LQVWUXFWLRQDO IDFXOW\ faculty em ployed on a full-t im e basis for instruction (inc luding t hose wit h released time for research) 3DUW WLPHLQVWUXFWLRQDO IDFXOW\ Adjunc ts and other ins tructors being paid s olely for part-time classroom instr uction. Also includes full-time faculty teaching less than two s emesters, three quarters, two trimesters, or two four -month sessions. Employees who are not consider ed full-time instruction faculty but who teach one or mor e non-clinical credit courses may be counted as part-time faculty. 0LQRULW\IDFXOW\: includes faculty who designate themselves as Black, non-Hispanic; American Indian or Alaska Native; Asian, N ative Haw aiian or other Pacific Islander, or Hispanic. 'RFWRUDWH: includes such degrees as Doctor of Philosophy, Doctor of Education, Doctor of J uridical Science, and Doctor of Public Health in any field such as arts, sciences, education, engineering, business, and public administration. Also includes terminal degr ees former ly designated as “first professional,” including dentistry (DD S or DMD), medicine (MD), optometry (OD), osteopathic medic ine (DO), phar macy (DPharm or BPharm), podiatric medicine (DPM), veterinary medicine (DVM), chiropractic (DC or DCM), or law (JD). 7HUPLQDOPDVWHU¶VGHJUHH : a master ’s degr ee that is considered the highest degree in a field: example, M. Arch (in architecture) and MFA ( master of fine arts in art or theater). &RPPRQ'DWD6HW Full-time Pa rt - time Total A Total number of instructional faculty 1342 376 1718 B Total number w ho are members of minority groups 268 34 302 C Total number w ho ar e women 611 221 832 D Total number w ho ar e men 731 155 886 E Total number who are nonresidentV (international) 52 5 57 F Total number with doctor ate, or other terminal degree 1191 169 1360 G Total num ber w hose highes t degree is a m aster’s but not a 122 137 259 terminal master’s H Total n umb er w hose h ig hes t degr ee is a bachelor’s 4 37 41 I Total number w hose highes t degree is unknow n or other (Note: 25 33 58 Items f, g, h, and i must sum up to item a.) J Total number in stand-alone graduate/professional programs in 0 which f aculty t each virtually only graduate-level students I-2. Student to Faculty Ratio 5HSRUWWKH)DOO UDWLRRIIXOO WLPHHTXLYDOHQWXQGHUJUDGXDWHDQGJUDGXDWHVWXGHQWV IXOO WLPHSOXV SDUW WLPH WRIXOO WLPHHTXLYDOHQWLQVWUXFWLRQDOIDFXOW\RIXQGHUJUDGXDWHDQGJUDGXDWHVWXGHQWV IXOO WLPHSOXV SDUW WLPH ,QWKHUDWLRFDOFXODWLRQV H[FOXGHERWKIDFXOW\DQGVWXGHQWVLQVWDQG DORQHJUDGXDWHRUSURIHVVLRQDO SURJUDPVVXFKDVPHGLFLQH ODZ YHWHULQDU\ GHQWLVWU\ VRFLDOZRUN EXVLQHVV RUSXEOLFKHDOWKLQZKLFKIDFXOW\ WHDFKYLUWXDOO\RQO\JUDGXDWHOHYHOVWXGHQWV x Do not count undergraduate or graduate student teaching assistants as faculty. Fall 202 Student to Faculty ratio: 14 to 1 (based on 19944 students and 1467 faculty) &RPPRQ'DWD6HW I-3. Underg raduate Class Size In the table below, please use the following definitions to report information about the size of classes and class sections offered in the Fall 202 term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³ ´ FROXPQ LQ WKH FODVVV VHFWLRQ FROXPQ DQG WLPHV XQGHU WKH ³ ´ FROXPQ RI WKH FODVV VXEVHFWLRQV WDEOH Number of Class Sections with Underg raduates Enrolled Undergradu ate Class Size (provide numbers) 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total CLASS 240 505 534 284 155 306 117 2141 SECTIO NS 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total CLASS SUB- 0 SECTIO NS &RPPRQ'DWD6HW
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1342 | 376 | 1718 |
| Members of minority groups | 268 | 34 | 302 |
| Females | 611 | 221 | 832 |
| Males | 731 | 155 | 886 |
| Nonresidents | 52 | 5 | 57 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1191 | 169 | 1360 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 122 | 137 | 259 |
| Bachelor's degree | 4 | 37 | 41 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 25 | 33 | 58 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio14
based on ____ students19,944
and ____ faculty1,467
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 240 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 240 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 505 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 534 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 284 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 155 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 306 | Not reported |
| Total | 117 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.25% | Not reported | 0.5803% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | 2.94% | Not reported | 1.0415% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | 2.08% | Not reported | 2.3419% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0.98% | Not reported | 1.4524% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | 0.74% | Not reported | 9.7726% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.75% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.14% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 0.12% | Not reported | 2.8240% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.42% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.06% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 4.29% | Not reported | 1.3150% |
| Health professions and related programs | 7.97% | Not reported | 6.3251% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.37% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0.12% |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.