Washington State University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Washington State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 18, 2024. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$68,905
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
61%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$14,971
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,500
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
207numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Steve
Last Name:Selk
Title:Data and Strategy Associate
Office:Office of Strategy, Planning, and Analysis
Address Line 1:P.O. Box 641043
Zipcode99164-1043
Country:United States
Phone:(509) 335-4553
Email Address:steve.selk@wsu.edu
City:Pullman
StateWashington
Street Address Line 1:P.O. Box 645910
CityPullman
StateWashington
Zip99164-5910
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(509) 335-3564
WWW Home Page Address:https://wsu.edu/
Admissions Phone Number:(509) 335-5568
Admissions Email Address:admissions@wsu.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://diversity.wsu.edu/home/
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 9136 | 1141 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 1461 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 10597 | 1141 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 1261 | 645 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 749 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 2010 | 645 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 12607 | 1786 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 72 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 847 | 3772 | 3815 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 80% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 26,166 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 22,335 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied4,249
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted14,526
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled12,231
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied3,516
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted10,486
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled9,072
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied661
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted1,154
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled1,032
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who applied72
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 6 | 267 |
| ACT | 2 | 90 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1000 | 1130 | 1250 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 520 | 580 | 640 |
| SAT math | 490 | 550 | 610 |
| ACT composite | 20 | 23 | 27 |
| ACT math | 18 | 23 | 26 |
| ACT English | 20 | 23 | 25 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8007
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69935
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59937
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49918
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3992
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8006
SAT Math: 600-69926
SAT Math: 500-59942
SAT Math: 400-49922
SAT Math: 300-3994
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16006
SAT Composite: 1200-139931
SAT Composite: 1000-119938
SAT Composite: 800-99923
SAT Composite: 600-7991
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.03.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9924.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7422.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4918.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2415.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9913.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.3
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.50
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.6
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?No
Priority Date: Month3
Priority Date: Day31
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:400
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESList any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://register.wsu.edu/academic-regulations/
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)16%
Percent of males who join fraternities19%
Percent of females who join sororities21%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing79%
Percent who live off campus or commute21%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent of males who join fraternities19%
Percent of females who join sororities21%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older15%
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students22
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://forms.financialaid.wsu.edu/cost-of-attendanceaid-estimator/npc/
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 11305.00 | 11305.00 |
| Tuition: in-state | 11305.00 | 11305.00 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 27864.00 | 27864.00 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 2086.00 | 2086.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 13622.00 | 13622.00 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 8802.00 | 8802.00 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 4820.00 | 4820.00 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 762.00 | 762.00 | 762.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 13622.00 |
| Transportation | 1596.00 | 1596.00 | 1596.00 |
| Other expenses | 1848.00 | 1848.00 | 1848.00 |
Financial Aid
4 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 1433 | 4359 | 141 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4449 | 5392 | 4303 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Federal$24,874
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$30,858
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$35,001
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$4,599,197
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | 1% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 33% | Not reported | 4% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 8% |
| Engineering technologies | 4% | Not reported | 1% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 4% | Not reported | 3% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 2% | Not reported | 2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | 1% | Not reported | 9% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0% | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 3% | Not reported | 1% |
| Health professions and related programs | 5% | Not reported | 7% |
| Business/marketing | 39% | Not reported | 18% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.