Washington State University

2018-19

The 2018-19 Common Data Set for Washington State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 18, 2019. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Enrolled

55

SAT Math

510-600

SAT Reading

510-610

ACT Composite

20-26

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$68,905
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
61%
6-year completion
Average net price
$14,971
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$19,500
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report239numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:P.O. Box 645910
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://ir.wsu.edu/common-data-set/
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking21902858Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking11281085Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking74558019Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents21Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino846125127
Black or African American, non-Hispanic169Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic3132Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic22Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic314Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic38Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic410Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reportedNot reported26098
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma197
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees5518
Postbachelor's certificates454
Master's degrees899
Post-master's certificates6
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reported000
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohortNot reported80522834401
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years286147462895
Completed in less than six years712286179
Total completers74748415172748
Six-year graduation rate0.568926123%0.601242236%0.664476566%0.624403545%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2014Not reported
Final cohort201413
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate79.30%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

4 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
AppliedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
AdmittedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled55Not reportedNot reported55
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time55Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT859
ACT269
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writing510Not reported610
SAT math510Not reported600
ACT composite20Not reported26
ACT math18Not reported26
ACT English19Not reported25
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7422.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4921.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2420.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9914.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.5
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.39
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Priority Date: Month1
Priority Date: Day31
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:550
If yes, maximum period of postponement:| C18 | Yes | No |
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,018
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,019
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

4 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied31223484Not reported6606
Admitted24152691Not reported5106
Enrolled13211380Not reported2701
Other fields
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
College transcript(s)Required of All
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month11
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Other
Fall Closing Date:Day31
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Transfer Credit Policies
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:73
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:90
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:ACE recommendations for the amount and level of credit (upper-division or lower- division) are followed if the military course (non-vocational/technical) is applicable to university or departmental requirements (AR16 1.b).

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)21%
Percent of males who join fraternities23%
Percent of females who join sororities28%
Percent who live off campus or commute15%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent of males who join fraternities17%
Percent of females who join sororities21%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older15%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students22
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22

Annual Expenses

7 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://forms.financialaid.wsu.edu/cost-of-attendanceaid-estimator/npc/
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:No
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition2453124531
Tuition: in-district99539953
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required fees18881888
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Tuition
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$526
In-state (out-of-district):$526
Out-of-state:$1,255

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2017-2018 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$37,627,794
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$14,102,323
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$101,557,675
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$36,593,196
Federal Work-Study$1,196,688
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$972,445
Total Self-Help$38,762,329
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,000,600
Athletic Awards$0
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$11,832,391
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,842,751
Total Scholarships/Grants$21,678,882
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$49,760,625
Total Self-Help$49,760,625
Parent Loans$42,182,489
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$27,498,013
Athletic Awards$9,073,341
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,789
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
Job skillsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 27 Common Data Set 2018-2019

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students23,951
and ____ faculty1,490

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
Agriculture1%Not reported3%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported0%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported1%
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0%
Communication/journalism2%Not reported7%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciences0%Not reported3%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Education37%Not reported3%
Engineering0%Not reported11%
Engineering technologies6%Not reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studies16%Not reportedNot reported
English3%Not reported2%
Liberal arts/general studies0%Not reported2%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciences2%Not reported6%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studies6%Not reported1%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported3%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported2%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported7%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services0%Not reported3%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported0%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported10%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Business/marketing25%Not reported21%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100%0.00%100%
Associate
Bachelors

Source Document