Washington State University

2017-18

The 2017-18 Common Data Set for Washington State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 7, 2018. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

73.1%

Applications

22,565

Admitted

16,487

Enrolled

2,088

SAT Math

510-610

SAT Reading

510-610

ACT Composite

20-26

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$68,905
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
61%
6-year completion
Average net price
$14,971
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$19,500
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report266numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:P.O. Box 645910
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://ir.wsu.edu/common-data-set/
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported25277
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported5337
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported30614
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents86Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino749103103
Black or African American, non-Hispanic144Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic2891Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic25Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic248Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic19Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic349Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reported24755Not reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma278
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees5597
Postbachelor's certificates445
Master's degrees960
Post-master's certificates2
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship315
Doctoral degrees, professional practice216
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist0000
Final cohort131380522834401
Completed in less than four years3903159691674
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2748
Six-year graduation rate747%Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist0000
Final cohort83453418733241
Completed in less than four years2692148441327
Completed in less than five years194114380688
Completed in less than six years491381143
Total completers51234113052158
Six-year graduation rate0.613908873%0.638576779%0.696743193%0.665843875%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2013Not reported
Final cohort201313
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate80.80%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied941613149Not reported22,565
Admitted67669721Not reported16,487
Enrolled204147Not reported2,088
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-timeNot reported47Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Computer Science1
Other (specify)1
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Computer Science1
Other (specify)1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT823762
ACT291324
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writing510Not reported610
SAT math510Not reported610
ACT composite20Not reported26
ACT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7421.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4922.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2420.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9915.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.5
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.39
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Priority Date: Month1
Priority Date: Day31
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:550
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?No
If yes, maximum period of postponement:| C18 | Yes | No |
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,017
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,018
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No

Transfer Admission

4 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied32773574Not reported6851
Admitted23442604Not reported4948
Enrolled13181365Not reported2683
Other fields
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month11
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Other
Fall Closing Date:Day31
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Transfer Credit Policies
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:73
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:90
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)18%
Percent of males who join fraternities21%
Percent of females who join sororities25%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing82%
Percent who live off campus or commute18%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)13%
Percent of males who join fraternities23%
Percent of females who join sororities25%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing24%
Percent who live off campus or commute76%
Percent of students age 25 and older16%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students22
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22

Annual Expenses

6 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://forms.financialaid.wsu.edu/cost-of-attendanceaid-estimator/npc/
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition2395623956
Tuition: in-district97209720
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required feesNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Tuition
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$513
In-state (out-of-district):$513
Out-of-state:$1,225

Financial Aid

6 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2016-2017 estimated
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,824
Financial Aid Deadlines
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):1
Other
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):31
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):4
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
Job skillsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 23 Common Data Set 2017-2018

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio15
based on ____ students23,203
and ____ faculty1,530

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
Agriculture1%Not reported3%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported0%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported1%
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported8%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciences0%Not reported2%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Education35%Not reported3%
Engineering0%Not reported11%
Engineering technologies7%Not reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Family and consumer sciences25%Not reported5%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
English5%Not reported1%
Liberal arts/general studies0%Not reported2%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciences1%Not reported6%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studies3%Not reported1%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported3%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported2%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported7%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services0%Not reported3%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported0%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported10%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Health professions and related programs2%Not reported7%
Business/marketing18%Not reported21%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100%0.00%100%
Associate
Bachelors

Source Document