Washington State University

2014-15

The 2014-15 Common Data Set for Washington State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 21, 2018. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Admitted

15,029

Enrolled

4,357

SAT Math

460-570

ACT Composite

19-25.5

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$68,905
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
61%
6-year completion
Average net price
$14,971
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$19,500
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report227numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://ir.wsu.edu/Common%20Data%20Set
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents119Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino6789091
Black or African American, non-Hispanic192Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic2728Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic26Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic243Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic19Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic404Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total4457Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma184
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees5054
Postbachelor's certificates334
Master's degrees731
Post-master's certificates4
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship260
Doctoral degrees, professional practice178
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years769Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years103Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort3184Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort3184Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years1275Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years686Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years124Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers2085Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rate65%Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort0Not reported
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate80.10%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
AppliedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Admitted65518478Not reported15,029
Enrolled20412316Not reported4,357
Enrolled full-timeNot reported2316Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time4654Not reportedNot reported
Other fields
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled2,013
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled2,014
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled2,013
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Computer Science1
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Computer Science1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT879
ACT249
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math460Not reported570
ACT composite19Not reported25.5
ACT math18Not reported26
ACT English18Not reported25
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4920.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2419.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9923.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.29
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?No
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:| | |
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,014
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,015
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

4 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied27812971Not reported5752
Admitted21192279Not reported4398
Enrolled11811273Not reported2454
Other fields
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month11
Spring Notification Date: Month9
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Other
Fall Closing Date:Day31
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Spring Notification Date: Day1
Transfer Credit Policies
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:73
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:90
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)13%
Percent of males who join fraternities15%
Percent of females who join sororities26%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing85%
Percent who live off campus or commute15%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent of males who join fraternities4%
Percent of females who join sororities7%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing25%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older17%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students22
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)23

Annual Expenses

6 TABLES
Information
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.18
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:No
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition2395610356
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required fees16111611
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum18
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$546
In-state (out-of-district):$546
Out-of-state:$1,226

Financial Aid

6 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2013-2014 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$34,302,243
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$13,281,855
Total Scholarships/Grants$97,730,558
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$41,819,093
Federal Work-Study$1,225,798
Total Self-Help$44,145,540
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$13,425,289
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$12,799,838
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,484,202
Total Scholarships/Grants$21,266,345
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$50,669,026
Total Self-Help$50,669,026
Parent Loans$35,817,738
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,607,059
Athletic Awards$7,293,527
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:343
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):4
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 21 Common Data Set 2014-2015

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
Agriculture2%Not reported3%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported1%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported1%
Area, ethnic, and gender studies0%Not reported0%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported8%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported1%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Education58%Not reported3%
Engineering0%Not reported10%
Engineering technologies3%Not reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Family and consumer sciences23%Not reported4%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
English4%Not reported2%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported2%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciences1%Not reported6%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studies3%Not reported1%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported3%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported1%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported7%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported3%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported0%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported12%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported1%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Business/marketing2%Not reported8%
History1%Not reported18%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100.00%0.00%100.00%
Associate
Bachelors

Source Document