SCHOOLS / VIRGINIA TECH
Common Data Set

Virginia Tech

The Virginia Tech Common Data Set is the yearly report the college publishes about itself. 14 reports on file, 2012–2025; the latest is 2025-26. Downloads include PDF, XLSX, CSV, and DOCX.

In its 2025-26 report, Virginia Tech says 57,755 first-year students applied and 31,515 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 55%. 7,133 admitted students enrolled (23% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% ACT of 28–32. Waitlist: 22,526 offered a spot, 13,380 accepted one, and 4,295 admitted from it. Compared with 2024-25, applications rose 10% (52,296 to 57,755) and the acceptance rate held at 55%.

The school's own page currently asks you to request the file. The original is here.

What is a Common Data Set?

This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date.

Subscribe to new reports via RSS.

BLACKSBURG, VAIPEDS 233921CARNEGIE CLASS 15
§14 reports2012–2025
§ CDS archive · latest 3 shown
2025-26
ExcelOn the page
2024-25
ExcelOn the page
2023-24
Flat PDFOn the page
§ Academic profile

Where you'd land in this school's admitted class.

SAT compositeNot reported
§ SAT composite NOT REPORTED IN THIS CDS YEAR
ACT compositeMiddle 50% of score submitters
25th28
Median30
75th32
§ 8% OF ADMITS SUBMITTED ACT SCORES · 2025-26 CDS · METHOD →
ADMIT RATE 55%SAT SUBMIT 42%ACT SUBMIT 8%

Add your GPA and test score to compare against this school's published CDS bands.

§ SOURCE: COMMON DATA SET 2025-26 · §C.7 §C.9 §C.11 §C.12ARCHIVED SOURCE →
§ Admission rounds

How the class gets assembled.

No Early Decision reportedEarly Action offered
§ Adjusted admission flow

This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.

Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.

All applicants
Applicants57,755reported count
Admits31,51555%
Class seats7,13323% yield
Exact admission data
Admission flow data
PathApplicantsAdmittedAdmit rateClass seatsNote
All applicants57,75531,51555%7,133School-reported totals.
Overall yield: 23%. Published yield blends high-commitment ED admits with the rest of the admitted pool.
§ Wait list attrition

59% joined after being offered a spot. 32% of students who joined were admitted. 39% of applicants were offered the wait list.

Exact wait-list data
Wait-list data
MetricValue
Offered a wait-list spot22,526
Accepted a wait-list spot13,380
Admitted from wait list4,295
Joined after being offered59%
Admitted after joining32%

Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.

§ Application cost

Application fee: $60. Fee waivers are reported as available.

§ SOURCE: COMMON DATA SET 2025-26 · §C.21 §C.22 §C.2 §C.7 §C.13METHOD →ARCHIVED SOURCE →
§ Merit and need aid

What this school reports giving.

Core merit fields reportedAcademic merit aid checked
No-need grant recipients1,12315% of first-year full-time students
Avg no-need grant$3,169H2A first-year full-time students with no financial need
§ Scope

CDS H2A counts students who had no financial need and received institutional non-need scholarship or grant aid, excluding athletic awards and tuition benefits.

§ International aid

Need-based aid for nonresidents: n/a. Non-need aid for nonresidents: n/a.

This is not a personalized price estimate. Merit awards are source-reported institutional facts. Your actual cost depends on income, assets, residency, application round, program, and school policy.
§ SOURCE: COMMON DATA SET 2025-26 · §H.2 §H.2A §H.6 §H.14METHOD →ARCHIVED SOURCE →
NCES/IPEDS baseline

Source-labeled federal facts

These values come from official NCES/IPEDS tables. They are not Common Data Set fields unless the source note says the alignment is direct or near.

Provisional 2024-25 release, data year 2024

Academics

Academics IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
Student-faculty ratio17EF2024D.STUFACR

Admissions

Admissions IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
Admissions total
first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates
28758ADM2024.ADMSSN
Admit rate55%DRVADM2024.DVADM01
Applicants total
first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates
52498ADM2024.APPLCN
Enrolled full time
first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates
7281ADM2024.ENRLFT
Enrolled total
first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduates
7289ADM2024.ENRLT
Open admissions policyNoIC2024.OPENADMP
Yield rate25%DRVADM2024.DVADM04

Admissions testing

Admissions testing IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
ACT composite 25th percentile28ADM2024.ACTCM25
ACT composite 50th percentile30ADM2024.ACTCM50
ACT composite 75th percentile32ADM2024.ACTCM75
ACT submit rate9%ADM2024.ACTPCT
SAT EBRW 25th percentile640ADM2024.SATVR25
SAT EBRW 50th percentile670ADM2024.SATVR50
SAT EBRW 75th percentile710ADM2024.SATVR75
SAT math 25th percentile640ADM2024.SATMT25
SAT math 50th percentile690ADM2024.SATMT50
SAT math 75th percentile740ADM2024.SATMT75
SAT submit rate41%ADM2024.SATPCT

Completions

Completions IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
Bachelor's degrees awarded7702DRVC2024.BASDEG
Doctor's degrees awarded496DRVC2024.DOCDEGRS
Master's degrees awarded1908DRVC2024.MASDEG

Costs

Costs IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
In-state required fees$2,796COST1_2024.FEE2
In-state tuition$13,152COST1_2024.TUITION2
Out-of-state required fees$3,402COST1_2024.FEE3
Out-of-state tuition$34,362COST1_2024.TUITION3
Total price, in-state on campus$39,670DRVCOST2024.CINSON
Total price, out-of-state on campus$61,486DRVCOST2024.COTSON

Enrollment

Enrollment IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
Full-time undergraduate enrollment30161DRVEF2024.EFUGFT
Graduate enrollment7822DRVEF2024.EFGRAD
Part-time undergraduate enrollment874DRVEF2024.EFUGPT
Total enrollment38857DRVEF2024.ENRTOT
Undergraduate enrollment31035DRVEF2024.EFUG

Financial aid

Financial aid IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
Any aid rate67%SFA2324.ANYAIDP
Average federal grant aid$6,057SFA2324.FGRNT_A
Average federal loan$11,377SFA2324.LOAN_A
Average Pell grant$5,712SFA2324.PGRNT_A
Federal grant aid rate15%SFA2324.FGRNT_P
Federal loan rate38%SFA2324.LOAN_P
Pell grant rate15%SFA2324.PGRNT_P

Identity

Identity IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
CityBlacksburgHD2024.CITY
ControlPublicHD2024.CONTROL
Degree-granting statusDegree-grantingHD2024.DEGGRANT
Highest level of offeringDoctor's degreeHD2024.HLOFFER
Institution levelFour or more yearsHD2024.ICLEVEL
Institution nameVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State UniversityHD2024.INSTNM
Institution size category20,000 and aboveHD2024.INSTSIZE
IPEDS sectorPublic, 4-year or aboveHD2024.SECTOR
LocaleCity: SmallHD2024.LOCALE
StateVirginiaHD2024.STABBR

Outcomes

Outcomes IPEDS baseline facts
FactValueSource
Bachelor graduation rate, 4 years69%DRVGR2024.GBA4RTT
Bachelor graduation rate, 5 years84%DRVGR2024.GBA5RTT
Bachelor graduation rate, 6 years86%DRVGR2024.GBA6RTT
Full-time retention rate93%EF2024D.RET_PCF
Graduation rate, 150% time86%DRVGR2024.GRRTTOT
Part-time retention rate56%EF2024D.RET_PCP
Transfer-out rate0%DRVGR2022.TRRTTOT
§ Federal outcomes

What federal data says

SRC · U.S. DEPT. OF ED., COLLEGE SCORECARD 2022-23.
OUTCOMES LAG THE CDS YEAR SHOWN ABOVE.
Median earnings
$81,698
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
86%
6-year completion
Average net price
$24,953
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$21,500
federal loans only
§ Earnings distribution

Ten years after enrollment, in 2022-23 dollars

P25
$53,415$53k
MEDIAN
$81,698$82k
P75
$113,356$113k
$20k
$40k
$60k
$80k
§H · Net price by family income

Average cost after grants

Scorecard · 2022-23
$0 – $30,000
$11,689
$30,001 – $48,000
$11,670
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,894
$75,001 – $110,000
← MODAL BRACKET$25,835
$110,001 and up
$34,201
§B · Completion and retention
4-yr grad
69%
6-yr grad
86%
8-yr grad
88%
Retention
93%
Pell grad
79%
Transfer
0%

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Building something with this data? Use the free API.