Virginia Military Institute
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Virginia Military Institute — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$77,369
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$17,113
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,996
federal loans only
FSA
8%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
389numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESStreet Address Line 1:. Click or tap here to enter text..
CityLexington
StateVirginia
Zip24,450
Country:U.S.A.
Main Phone Number:(540) 464-7207
WWW Home Page Address:www.vmi.edu
Admissions Email Address:admissions@vmi.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://www.vmi.edu/admissions-and-aid/apply/
Bachelor'sX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.vmi.edu/cadet-life/health-wellness-safety/diversity-opportunity-and-inclusion/
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 385 | 62 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 17 | 3 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 954 | 139 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 1356 | 204 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 1356 | 204 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 4 | 24 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 51 | 146 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 50 | 111 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 292 | 1119 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | 6 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 22 | 78 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 3 | 11 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 20 | 61 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 2 | 4 | Not reported |
| Total | 447 | 1560 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 347 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 77 | 122 | 225 | 424 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 76 | 122 | 225 | 423 |
| Completed in less than four years | 44 | 94 | 165 | 303 |
| Completed in less than five years | 7 | 12 | 22 | 41 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Total completers | 52 | 106 | 188 | 346 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 68.4% | 86.9% | 83.6% | 81.8% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 61 | 127 | 266 | 454 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 61 | 127 | 266 | 454 |
| Completed in less than four years | 36 | 78 | 179 | 293 |
| Completed in less than five years | 6 | 14 | 28 | 48 |
| Completed in less than six years | 4 | 1 | 3 | 8 |
| Total completers | 46 | 93 | 210 | 349 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 75.4% | 73.2% | 78.9% | 76.9% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 84.4% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 967 | 204 | Not reported | 1,171 |
| Admitted | 800 | 157 | Not reported | 957 |
| Enrolled | 401 | 68 | Not reported | 469 |
| Enrolled full-time | 401 | 68 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied517
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted422
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied642
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted525
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied12
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted10
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language3
Social studies3
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language4
Social studies3
Academic electives2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 1 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1050 | 1170 | 1260 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 530 | 590 | 650 |
| SAT math | 510 | 580 | 620 |
| ACT composite | 22 | 25 | 28 |
| ACT math | 23 | 25 | 26 |
| ACT English | 21 | 23 | 28 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8009.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69936.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59943.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4997.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3993.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-8008.7
SAT Math: 600-69932.3
SAT Math: 500-59940.2
SAT Math: 400-49917.3
SAT Math: 300-3991.6
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-16007.1
SAT Composite: 1200-139936.2
SAT Composite: 1000-119943.3
SAT Composite: 800-99911.8
SAT Composite: 600-7991.6
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-3618.6
ACT Composite: 24-2939.5
ACT Composite: 18-2341.9
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class15.6
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class38.7
Percent in top half of high school graduating class75.3
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class24.7
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class6.6
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:51.8
Percent who had GPA of 4.041
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9914.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4913
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.246.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.998.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.2
Percent who had GPA of 4.019.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9913
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2414.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9911.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.3
Percent who had GPA of 4.027.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9913.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9910.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.4
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.2
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.8
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Click or tap here to enter text.
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 41 | 8 | Not reported | 50 |
| Admitted | 27 | 4 | Not reported | 31 |
| Enrolled | 18 | 3 | Not reported | 21 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
Standardized test scoresNot Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants: Click or tap here to enter text.
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Double majorX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Study abroadX
Undergraduate ResearchX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
3 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)40%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)36%
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19.7
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 41960 | 41960 |
| Tuition: in-district | 10368 | 10368 |
| Tuition: in-state | 10368 | 10368 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 41960 | 41960 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 10678 | 10678 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 11310 | 11310 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 3386 | 3386 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 7924 | 7924 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1200 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 450 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 1700 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | Not reported | 306 | 0 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 19843 | 17602 | 0 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | 289 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | 20653 | 0 |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$1,308,238
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$1,543,282
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,192,903
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$433,866
Total Scholarships/Grants$6,478,289
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,875,380
Federal Work-Study$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$1,875,380
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$11,961,759
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$58,300
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$10,814,076
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,122,426
Total Scholarships/Grants$23,956,561
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,426,706
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$6,426,706
Parent Loans$2,588,142
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$5,580,255
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 347 | 1512 | 0 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 297 | 1030 | 0 |
| Determined to have financial need | 267 | 948 | 0 |
| Awarded any aid | 263 | 938 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 213 | 649 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 166 | 625 | 0 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 99 | 418 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 155 | 583 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 63 | 66 | 0 |
| Average financial aid package | 34290 | 33537 | 0 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 19786 | 18596 | 0 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3224 | 4362 | 0 |
| Average need-based loan | 3224 | 4362 | 0 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.323
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details: Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9.5
based on ____ students1,560
and ____ faculty165
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 20.1% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.5% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.5% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 29.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 12.3% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.