Virginia Commonwealth University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for Virginia Commonwealth University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$58,128
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
63%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$23,433
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,500
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
285numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number:(804)828- 0100
WWW Home Page Address:www.vcu.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(804)828- 1222
Admissions Email Address:ugrad@vcu.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.ugrad.vcu.edu/apply/index.html
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 107 | 653 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 514 | 2278 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 878 | 4399 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1835 | 9994 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 4 | 38 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 744 | 3093 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 4 | 25 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 347 | 1551 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 110 | 664 | Not reported |
| Total | 4543 | 22695 | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1397 | 912 | 1467 | 3776 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 |
| Final cohort | 1397 | 906 | 1467 | 3770 |
| Completed in less than four years | 500 | 373 | 630 | 1503 |
| Completed in less than five years | 280 | 158 | 243 | 681 |
| Completed in less than six years | 83 | 40 | 63 | 186 |
| Total completers | 863 | 571 | 936 | 2370 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 61.8% | 63.0% | 63.8% | 62.9% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1266 | 829 | 1512 | 3607 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 6 | 0 | 6 |
| Final cohort | 1266 | 823 | 1512 | 3601 |
| Completed in less than four years | 517 | 370 | 727 | 1614 |
| Completed in less than five years | 253 | 140 | 266 | 659 |
| Completed in less than six years | 53 | 45 | 52 | 150 |
| Total completers | 823 | 855 | 1045 | 2423 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 65.0% | 67.4% | 69.1% | 67.3% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2014 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2014 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 84.7% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESTotal academic units20
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History2
Total academic units24
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language3
Social studies1
History3
Computer Science1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 3 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 550 | 640 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 520 | 620 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 21 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 19 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 20 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8009.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69940.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59942.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4997.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-8007.3
SAT Math: 600-69925.9
SAT Math: 500-59954.6
SAT Math: 400-49911.8
SAT Math: 300-3990.4
SAT Math: 200-299100
ACT Composite: 30-3616.5
ACT Composite: 24-2939.5
ACT Composite: 18-2338.4
ACT Composite: 12-175.5
ACT Composite: 6-110.1
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7420.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4918.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.3
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.65
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:_______
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1661 | Not reported | Not reported | 3981 |
| Admitted | 1102 | Not reported | Not reported | 2606 |
| Enrolled | 738 | Not reported | Not reported | 1702 |
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresRequired of Some
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of Some
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:___________________________________________________________________________________________ ___________________________________________________________________________________________ Planning and Decision Support Common Data Set 2018- 2019
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)8%
Percent who live off campus or commute18%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)7%
Percent of students age 25 and older10%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/student/apply/vcu
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$31,655,837
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$18,818,984
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$8,228,290
Total Scholarships/Grants$86,011,977
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$82,576,296
Federal Work-Study$1,836,716
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$500
Total Self-Help$84,413,512
Parent Loans$13,787,931
Federal$71,221
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,588,220
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$17,991,573
Total Scholarships/Grants$21,898,898
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$28,040,610
Total Self-Help$28,040,610
Parent Loans$11,335,647
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,681
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ Planning and Decision Support Common Data Set 2018- 2019
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17.57
based on ____ students33
and ____ faculty67
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 101 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 101 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 193 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 336 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 74 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 8 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 5 |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 1.40% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 1.52% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 5.41% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.35% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 5.92% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 4.82% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.50% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.97% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.40% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 53% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.87% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.09% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 6.22% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.79% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.82% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 12.40% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 13.73% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.48% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.