Vassar College
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Vassar College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$71,366
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$39,343
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,625
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
392numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESFirst Name:Angeli
Last Name:Pinol
Title:Research, Data, and Reporting Analyst
Office:Office of Institutional Research
Address Line 1:124 Raymond Ave
Zipcode12,604
Phone:(845)-437-5867
Email Address:apinol@vassar.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://offices.vassar.edu/institutional-research/data/
City:Poughkeepsie
StateNY
Street Address Line 1:124 Raymond Avenue
CityPoughkeepsie
StateNY
Zip12,590
Country:Click or tap here to enter text.
Main Phone Number:Click or tap here to enter text.
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.vassar.edu/
Admissions Email Address:admission@vassar.edu
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.vassar.edu/inclusion-and-equity
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 262 | 424 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 657 | 1083 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 919 | 1507 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 3 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 922 | 1512 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 2 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 2 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 6 | 16 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 43 | 163 | 175 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 83 | 289 | 289 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 25 | 94 | 95 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 383 | 1338 | 1348 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 1 | 1 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 69 | 287 | 288 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 68 | 202 | 203 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 15 | 56 | 57 |
| Total | 686 | 2430 | 2456 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 630 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 177.0 | 176.0 | 273.0 | 626.0 |
| Did not persist | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Final cohort | 177.0 | 176.0 | 273.0 | 626.0 |
| Completed in less than four years | 132.0 | 157.0 | 216.0 | 505.0 |
| Completed in less than five years | 20.0 | 9.0 | 18.0 | 47.0 |
| Completed in less than six years | 4.0 | 1.0 | 1.0 | 6.0 |
| Total completers | 156.0 | 167.0 | 235.0 | 558.0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 88% | 95% | 86% | 89% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 185 | 172 | 302 | 659 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 185 | 172 | 302 | 659 |
| Completed in less than four years | 161 | 157 | 258 | 576 |
| Completed in less than five years | 5 | 5 | 14 | 24 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 0 | 4 | 5 |
| Total completers | 168 | 162 | 276 | 606 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 91% | 94% | 91% | 92% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 3953 | 8192 | Not reported | 12,145 |
| Admitted | 853 | 1300 | Not reported | 2,153 |
| Enrolled | 264 | 425 | Not reported | 689 |
| Enrolled full-time | 264 | 425 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied2,328
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted535
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied6,270
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted1,448
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied3,547
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted170
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:919
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:501
Number of wait-listed students admitted:60
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language4
Social studies4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 26 | 179 |
| ACT | 13 | 88 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1450 | 1490 | 1530 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 720 | 750 | 770 |
| SAT math | 715 | 760 | 780 |
| ACT composite | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80089
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69911
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80088
SAT Math: 600-69912
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-160097
SAT Composite: 1200-13993
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-36100
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class79
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class97
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:27
Amount of application fee:65
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day1
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 Year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 128 | 238 | Not reported | 366 |
| Admitted | 20 | 23 | Not reported | 43 |
| Enrolled | 3 | 8 | Not reported | 11 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:https://www.vassar.edu/admission/apply/transfer
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day15
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESComprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Foreign languagesX
Intensive writingX
PhilosophyX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)70%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)71%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing96%
Percent who live off campus or commute4%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Women's residence halls (Females)X
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 70050 | 70050 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 980 | 980 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 18240 | 18240 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 13120 | 13120 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 5120 | 5120 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 2250 | 2250 | 2250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 5120 |
| Transportation | 450 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 1350 | 1350 | 1350 |
NONRESIDENTS:$2,229
Financial Aid
5 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$3,326,391
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$791,873
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$70,922,668
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,579,374
Total Scholarships/Grants$77,620,306
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,326,546
Federal Work-Study$274,950
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,219,553
Total Self-Help$6,821,049
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$434,655
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$203,415
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$0
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$203,415
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,681,725
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$1,681,725
Parent Loans$3,803,770
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details: Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 300 | 62 | 362 |
| Members of minority groups | 82 | 12 | 94 |
| Females | 154 | 33 | 187 |
| Males | 146 | 27 | 173 |
| Nonresidents | 15 | 5 | 20 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 284 | 40 | 324 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 3 | 13 | 16 |
| Bachelor's degree | 12 | 5 | 17 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8
based on ____ students2,427
and ____ faculty321
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 7% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 14% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 23% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.