Vanderbilt University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Vanderbilt University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$91,565
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
94%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$15,846
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,000
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
392numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.City/State/Zip/Country:
Address Line 3:615-343-8775
City:DSA@Vanderbilt.Edu
First Name:Richard Iannelli
Last Name:Director of Institutional Research and Assessment
Title:Office of Data and Strategic Analysis
Office:PMB 407832: 2301 Vanderbilt Place
Address Line 1:Nashville/TN/37240/USA
Address Line 2:615-343-3282
ZipcodeYes
Country:No
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Mailing Address:
Name of College/University:615-322-2561
Street Address Line 1:800-288-0432
Street Address Line 2:2305 West End Avenue
Street Address Line 3:Nashville TN 37203
City615-343-7765
Stateadmissions@vanderbilt.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Differs by program (describe):
Classify your undergraduate institution:X
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 64 | 86 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 2,598 | 2,713 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3,401 | 3,677 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 2 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 3,403 | 3,679 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 10 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 2,225 | 3,179 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 5,628 | 6,858 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 7,151 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 6,559 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Degree-Seeking First-Time First Year | Degree-Seeking Undergraduates (include first-time first-year) | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 169 | 725 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 192 | 787 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | 178 | 743 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | 62 | 276 | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | 1,619 | 7,144 | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 25 | 1,371 | 1,599 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 0 | 5 | 8 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 25 | 1,366 | 1,591 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 21 | 1,227 | 1,410 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 47 | 61 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 23 | 1,279 | 1,476 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 0.92 | 0.94 | 0.93 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 219 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 179 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 14 |
| Master's degrees | 5 |
| Post-master's certificates | 198 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 0.9 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC8G · Entrance Exams
ACTC9
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 25,989 | Not reported | Not reported | 25,989 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | 739 | 739 |
| Enrolled | 878 | 2 | Not reported | 880 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 3,093 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 46,377 | 1,619 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolledTOTAL
Visual/Performing ArtsVery Important
Visual/Performing ArtsImportant
Explain:Talent/ability
Volunteer workADMISSION
Work experienceRequire
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 34 | 35 |
| ACT | 32 | 34 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | SAT Math | Not reported |
| SAT math | 0.9 | 0.9 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 0.1 | 0.0 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 0.0 | 0.0 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | 1 | 1 | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8000.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-6990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3991
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: TotalACT Composite
SAT Math: TotalACT English
SAT Composite: 1400-16000.0
SAT Composite: 1200-13990.0
SAT Composite: 1000-11990
SAT Composite: 800-9990
SAT Composite: 600-7991
ACT Math: 30-361.0
ACT Math: 24-290.0
ACT Math: 18-230
ACT Math: 12-170.3
ACT Reading: 30-36Top half +
ACT Reading: 24-29bottom half = 100%
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.99Yes
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.49X
Percent who had GPA below 1.050
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.99No
Amount of application fee:Yes
Must reply by (date)C18
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Nov 1st
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1,474 | 1,359 | Not reported | 2,833 |
| Admitted | 222 | 249 | Not reported | 471 |
| Enrolled | 112 | 131 | Not reported | 243 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)X
FallX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?X
High school transcriptX
College transcript(s)X
Standardized test scoresX
Describe other transfer credit policies:Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits:
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Number
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Double majorX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
3 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Name of Cooperating InstitutionX
Men's residence halls (Men)X
Women's residence halls (Females)X
Apartments for married studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Wellness housingX
Other housing options (specify):X
Specify:Other housing options (specify):
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | $21,054 | $20,978 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $13,484 | $13,484 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $7,570 | $7,494 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | $3,008 | $3,008 | $3,008 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
16 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 165 | 769 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $22,428 | $26,099 | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 61 | 236 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $63,679 | $64,854 | Not reported |
Academic Yearx
Both FM and IMX
Federal$10,149,003
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,854,375
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$194,652,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,418,466
Total Scholarships/Grants$210,073,844
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,205,513
Federal Work-Study$4,324,230
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$5,529,743
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$730,836
Athletic Awards$3,399,446
Federal$6,190,076
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$897,663
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$22,455,020
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,710,438
Total Scholarships/Grants$31,253,197
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,218,542
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$6,218,542
Parent Loans$7,093,158
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,228,151
Athletic Awards$11,948,728
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1,617 | 7,082 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1,019 | 3,711 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 838 | 3,386 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 838 | 3,386 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 836 | 3,362 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 503 | 2,283 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 71 | 170 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 838 | 3,386 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | $69,254 | $65,889 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $66,031 | $63,479 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | $2,367 | $2,808 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | $3,187 | $3,786 | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,489
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 273 | 0% | $30,364 |
| Federal loan programs | 247 | 0% | $15,579 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| Private student loans | 77 | 0% | $57,678 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availablex
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availablex
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:181
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$71,703
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$12,978,177
CSS Profilex
Specify:International Student’s Certification of Finances
FAFSAH8
CSS Profilex
Noncustodial Profilex
Specify:Business/Farm Supplement
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):Feb 1
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):Feb 1
a) Students notified on or about (date): Montha) Students notified on or about (date):
a) Students notified on or about (date): Daya) Students notified on or about (date):
If yes, starting date (Month):Yes
If yes, starting date (Day):Yes
or within____weeks of notification.May 1
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loansx
Federal Direct PLUS Loansx
Federal Nursing Loansx
College/university loans from institutional fundsx
Specify:College/university loans from institutional funds
Federal Pell GrantsH13
State scholarships/grantsx
Private scholarshipsx
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsx
United Negro College Fundx
Federal Nursing Scholarshipx
Other (specify):x
Specify:Federal Nursing Scholarship
Alumni affiliationNon-Need Based
Artx
ROTCx
Music/dramax
Religious affiliationx
Alumni affiliationNeed-Based
Artx
Religious affiliationx
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:State/district residency
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1,023 | 293 | 1,316 |
| Members of minority groups | 219 | 47 | 266 |
| Females | 453 | 147 | 600 |
| Males | 570 | 146 | 716 |
| Nonresidents | 213 | 24 | 237 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 996 | 211 | 1,207 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio7
based on ____ students7,105
and ____ faculty972
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 469 | 38 |
| 10-19 students | 604 | 111 |
| 20-29 students | 300 | 23 |
| 30-39 students | 195 | 3 |
| 40-49 students | 52 | 9 |
| 50-99 students | 105 | 4 |
| 100+ students | 46 | 0 |
| Total | 1,771 | 188 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 1.0% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.