Valparaiso University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Valparaiso University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$63,191
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
70%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,578
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$26,942
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
473numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESFirst Name:Click or tap here to enter text
Last Name:Click or tap here to enter text
Title:Click or tap here to enter text
Office:Click or tap here to enter text
Address Line 1:Click or tap here to enter text
ZipcodeClick or tap here to enter text
Country:Click or tap here to enter text
Phone:Click or tap here to enter text
Email Address:Click or tap here to enter text.
StateClick or tap here to enter text
Street Address Line 1:1700 Chapel Drive
CityValparaiso
StateIndiana
Zip46,383
Country:USA
Main Phone Number (Area Code)219
Main Phone Number:464-5000
WWW Home Page Address:www.valpo.edu
Admissions Email Address:Undergrad.Admission@valpo.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://www.valpo.edu/apply-to-valpo/
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.valpo.edu/dei/
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 235 | 363 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 21 | 14 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 672 | 894 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 928 | 1271 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 7 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 935 | 1272 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 12 | 17 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 13 | 20 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 31 | 20 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 97 | 110 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 70 | 96 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 4 | 17 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 7 | 14 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 96 | 60 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 6 | 14 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 109 | 88 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 17 | 100 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 88 | 255 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 44 | 142 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 394 | 1537 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 2 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 15 | 76 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 1 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 29 | 86 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 10 | 33 | Not reported |
| Total | 599 | 2232 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 1 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 617 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 217 |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 14 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 250 | 235 | 322 | 807 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 250 | 235 | 322 | 807 |
| Completed in less than four years | 129 | 130 | 210 | 469 |
| Completed in less than five years | 16 | 20 | 28 | 64 |
| Completed in less than six years | 4 | 4 | 0 | 8 |
| Total completers | 149 | 154 | 238 | 541 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 59.6% | 65.5% | 73.9% | 67.0% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 266 | 232 | 364 | 862 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 266 | 232 | 364 | 862 |
| Completed in less than four years | 132 | 153 | 252 | 537 |
| Completed in less than five years | 16 | 14 | 29 | 59 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 3 | 2 | 6 |
| Total completers | 149 | 170 | 283 | 602 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 56% | 73.3% | 77.7% | 69.8% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 78.8% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2837 | 3302 | Not reported | 6,374 |
| Admitted | 2504 | 2962 | Not reported | 5,658 |
| Enrolled | 235 | 364 | Not reported | 599 |
| Enrolled full-time | 235 | 363 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied2,645
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,322
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied3,012
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,831
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied717
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted505
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
History2
Academic electives3
Total academic units19
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History2
Academic electives3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 27 | 163 |
| ACT | 5.7 | 34 |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class28
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class59
Percent in top half of high school graduating class85
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class15
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:47
Percent who had GPA of 4.045
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9922
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7413
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.499
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.244
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.025
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9921
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7416
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2413
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9912
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.032
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9921
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2410
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9910
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 167 | 148 | Not reported | 343 |
| Admitted | 143 | 130 | Not reported | 298 |
| Enrolled | 53 | 51 | Not reported | 104 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants: Certain programs may require a higher GPA for transfer admissions.
Fall Closing Date: Month03
Fall Closing Date:Day01
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
Physical EducationX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)44%
Percent of males who join fraternities28%
Percent of females who join sororities31%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing74%
Percent who live off campus or commute26%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)48%
Percent of males who join fraternities28%
Percent of females who join sororities31%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing58%
Percent who live off campus or commute42%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 46940 | 46940 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1510 | 1510 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | 8116 | 8116 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 5502 | 5502 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Other expenses | 870 | 870 | 870 |
NONRESIDENTS:$1,840
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 110 | 530 | 12 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 27554 | 24620 | 19109 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 17 | 70 | 2 |
| Average athletic grant | 14211 | 22276 | 57055 |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$4,787,472
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$3,407,149
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$33,828,874
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,369,530
Total Scholarships/Grants$43,393,025
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,837,739
Federal Work-Study$595,307
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$190,500
Total Self-Help$3,626,546
Parent Loans$2,173,795
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$103,081
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$26,091,105
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$244,491
Total Scholarships/Grants$26,335,596
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$11,290,654
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,069,269
Total Self-Help$12,359,923
Parent Loans$1,854,396
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,703,971
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 603 | 2301 | 41 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 576 | 2018 | 27 |
| Determined to have financial need | 485 | 1711 | 20 |
| Awarded any aid | 485 | 1708 | 18 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 485 | 1708 | 18 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 248 | 988 | 6 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 131 | 455 | 2 |
| Need fully met | 256 | 927 | 9 |
| Average percentage of need met | 92 | 94 | 74 |
| Average financial aid package | 37612 | 37936 | 12414 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 35135 | 34850 | 13200 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3570 | 4671 | 2038 |
| Average need-based loan | 3289 | 4332 | 2409 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.472
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details: Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 194 | 99 | 293 |
| Members of minority groups | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Females | 94 | 62 | 156 |
| Males | 100 | 37 | 137 |
| Nonresidents | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 162 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 30 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 10 | 0 | 10 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio12
based on ____ students3
and ____ faculty217
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 12 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 12 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 42 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 42 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 1 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 1 |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 100% | 100% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.0% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 26.0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 12.0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.