Valparaiso University
2014-15
The 2014-15 Common Data Set for Valparaiso University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$63,191
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
70%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,578
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$26,942
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
233numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number (Area Code)219
Main Phone Number:464-5000
WWW Home Page Address:http://www.valpo.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):219
Admissions Phone Number:464-5011
Admissions Email Address:undergrad.admission@valpo.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.valpo.edu/admission/undergrad/apply/
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 36 | 253 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 68 | 248 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 43 | 170 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 517 | 2362 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | 9 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 16 | 57 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 17 | 76 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 12 | 44 | Not reported |
| Total | 714 | 3219 | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2010 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2010 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESTotal academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
History2
Academic electives3
Total academic units19
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History2
Academic electives3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | Yes | — |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 500 | 620 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 23 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 23 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 23 | 30 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Does your institution have an application closing date?No
If yes, maximum period of postponement:_1 year__
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 168 | 308 | Not reported | 476 |
| Admitted | 139 | 259 | Not reported | 398 |
| Enrolled | 73 | 119 | Not reported | 192 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:___Certain programs may require a higher GPA for transfer admission. __________________________________ ___________________________________________________________________________________________ Page 12 of 37 Common Data Set 2014-2015
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Theme housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 35030 | 35030 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1130 | 1130 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 750 | 750 | 750 |
| Other expenses | 870 | 870 | 870 |
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2014-2015 estimated
Federal$4,747,250
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$30,625,793
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,050,760
Total Scholarships/Grants$38,241,936
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$17,298,945
Federal Work-Study$679,510
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$942,156
Total Self-Help$18,920,611
Parent Loans$2,514,552
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,294,264
Federal$400,280
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$12,957,155
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$705,035
Total Scholarships/Grants$14,062,470
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,706,917
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$367,670
Total Self-Help$4,074,587
Parent Loans$3,770,520
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,670,085
FAFSAX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AthleticsX
Job skillsX
AthleticsX
Job skillsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________ Page 24 of 37 Common Data Set 2014-2015
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEI3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 46 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 46 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 53 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 61 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 5 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.7% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.4% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 50% | Not reported | 6.7% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 8.5% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 100% | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.5% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.4% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 18.3% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 11.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.