University of Washington
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Washington — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 24, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of Washington says 69,166 first-year students applied and 27,076 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 39%. 7,195 admitted students enrolled (27% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1333–1500 and ACT of 28–33. Waitlist: 15,591 offered a spot, 7,983 accepted one, and 1,596 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 69,166 | 27,076 | 39% | 7,195 | School-reported totals. |
51% joined after being offered a spot. 20% of students who joined were admitted. 23% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 15,591 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 7,983 |
| Admitted from wait list | 1,596 |
| Joined after being offered | 51% |
| Admitted after joining | 20% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Application fee: $80.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
3 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3,107 | 4,009 | Not reported | 5 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 324 | 315 | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 9,519 | 12,782 | Not reported | 79 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 12,950 | 17,106 | Not reported | 85 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 88 | 110 | Not reported | 32 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 13,038 | 17,216 | Not reported | 117 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 35 | 40 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 18 | 18 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 792 | 889 | Not reported | 9 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 845 | 947 | Not reported | 9 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 217 | 236 | Not reported | 8,129 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 1,062 | 1,183 | Not reported | 8,138 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 14100 | 18399 | Not reported | 8255 | 40,754 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 2,012 | 2,763 | Not reported | 206 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3,426 | 4,629 | Not reported | 231 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 7 | 7 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 5,445 | 7,399 | Not reported | 437 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 427 | 463 | Not reported | 65 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 964 | 934 | Not reported | 53 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 57 | 58 | Not reported | 11 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 1,448 | 1,455 | Not reported | 129 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 16,313 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 57,067 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 774 | 3,747 | 3,924 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 823 | 3,295 | 3,322 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 324 | 1,382 | 1,394 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2,210 | 10,601 | 10,744 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 25 | 107 | 114 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 1,963 | 8,757 | 8,846 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 28 | 108 | 109 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 624 | 2,624 | 2,640 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 425 | 1,321 | 9,661 |
| Total | 7,196 | 31,942 | 40,754 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 8,461 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 4,682 |
| Post-master's certificates | 23 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 695 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 604 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 190 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,399 | 696 | 5,001 | 7,096 |
| Did not persist | 2 | 1 | 4 | 7 |
| Final cohort | 1,397 | 695 | 4,997 | 7,089 |
| Completed in less than four years | 907 | 494 | 3,829 | 5,230 |
| Completed in less than five years | 184 | 64 | 470 | 718 |
| Completed in less than six years | 31 | 13 | 48 | 92 |
| Total completers | 1,122 | 571 | 4,347 | 6,040 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.8% | 0.8% | 0.9% | 0.9% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,599 | 719 | 4,398 | 6,716 |
| Did not persist | 3 | 0 | 1 | 4 |
| Final cohort | 1,596 | 719 | 4,397 | 6,712 |
| Completed in less than four years | 977 | 512 | 3,270 | 4,759 |
| Completed in less than five years | 241 | 65 | 442 | 748 |
| Completed in less than six years | 27 | 10 | 75 | 112 |
| Total completers | 1,245 | 587 | 3,787 | 5,619 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.8% | 0.8% | 0.9% | 0.8% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 31,589 | 37,514 | Not reported | 63 | 69,166 |
| Admitted | 11,090 | 15,966 | Not reported | 20 | 27,076 |
| Enrolled full-time | 3,102 | 4,013 | Not reported | 5 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 35 | 40 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7,195 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0.2 | Not reported |
| ACT | 0.0 | Not reported |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,333 | 1,410 | 1,500 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 670 | 700 | 753 |
| SAT math | 640 | 720 | 763 |
| ACT composite | 28 | 30 | 33 |
| ACT math | 26 | 31 | 32 |
| ACT English | 27 | 31 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | 8 | 8 | 9 |
| ACT Science | 28 | 31 | 33 |
| ACT Reading | 30 | 33 | 34 |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2,690 | 2,619 | Not reported | 128 | 5,437 |
| Admitted | 1,036 | 1,278 | Not reported | 65 | 2,379 |
| Enrolled | 702 | 832 | Not reported | 45 | 1,579 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $11,869 | $11,869 |
| Tuition: in-state | $11,869 | $11,869 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $42,105 | $42,105 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | $1,104 | $1,104 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $18,405 | $18,405 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $12,117 | $12,117 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $6,288 | $6,288 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $900 | $900 | $900 |
| Food only | Not reported | $5,961 | $6,288 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $12,117 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $18,405 |
| Transportation | $519 | $789 | $519 |
| Other expenses | $2,508 | $2,508 | $2,508 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 668 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $4,035 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 77 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $42,233 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 5,177 | 16,621 | 842 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2,737 | 11,403 | 627 |
| Awarded any aid | 2,536 | 10,737 | 516 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2,363 | 9,995 | 452 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1,217 | 5,313 | 286 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 117 | 351 | 12 |
| Need fully met | 749 | 2,603 | 59 |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | 1% |
| Average financial aid package | $20,497 | $21,392 | $15,223 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $19,549 | $20,249 | $14,829 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $6,048 | $6,677 | $6,287 |
| Average need-based loan | $4,191 | $5,214 | $5,587 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1,599 | 0% | $19,249 |
| Federal loan programs | 1,572 | 0% | $14,493 |
| Institutional loan programs | 4 | 0% | $9,073 |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 152 | 0% | $52,365 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 2,204 | 517 | 2,721 |
| Members of minority groups | 596 | 102 | 698 |
| Females | 1,070 | 290 | 1,360 |
| Males | 1,134 | 227 | 1,361 |
| Nonresidents | 124 | 5 | 129 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1,886 | 197 | 2,083 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 193 | 149 | 342 |
| Bachelor's degree | 18 | 33 | 51 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 107 | 138 | 245 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 234 | 7 |
| 10-19 students | 408 | 16 |
| 20-29 students | 546 | 36 |
| 30-39 students | 267 | 21 |
| 40-49 students | 162 | 1 |
| 50-99 students | 352 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 252 | 0 |
| Total | 2,221 | 81 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12.7% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 9.4% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.6% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.7% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 6.8% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 9.4% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.