University of Wisconsin-Madison
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for University of Wisconsin-Madison — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$73,792
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
90%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$17,354
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,484
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
225numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://apir.wisc.edu/institution/common-data-set-
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):608
Admissions Phone Number:262-3961
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://admissions.wisc.edu/how-
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 645 | 3209 | 3659 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 436 | 1709 | 1769 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 113 | 594 | 637 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 5148 | 21537 | 22982 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 10 | 55 | 59 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 646 | 2201 | 2307 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 6 | 26 | 26 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 273 | 1103 | 1136 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 273 | 751 | 881 |
| Total | 7550 | 31185 | 33456 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 2329 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 819 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 717 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2015 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 95.2% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units19
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies3
Visual/Performing Arts2
Total academic units22
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language4
Social studies4
Visual/Performing Arts2
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1330 | 1450 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 630 | 710 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 680 | 780 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 27 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 26 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 27 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80030.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69959.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5999.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-80066.8
SAT Math: 600-69926.3
SAT Math: 500-5996.5
SAT Math: 400-4990.4
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 1400-160050.8
SAT Composite: 1200-139943.2
SAT Composite: 1000-11995.8
SAT Composite: 800-9990.2
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3650.5
ACT Composite: 24-2945.3
ACT Composite: 18-234.2
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
Amount of application fee:60
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1832 | Not reported | Not reported | 3464 |
| Admitted | 805 | Not reported | Not reported | 1584 |
| Enrolled | 456 | Not reported | Not reported | 889 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of Some
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:___________________________________________________________________________________________ ___________________________________________________________________________________________ Common Data Set 2019- 2020
Fall Closing Date: Month02
Spring Closing Date: Month10
Fall Notification Date: Month03
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day01
Spring Closing Date: Day01
Fall Notification Date: Day01
Spring Notification Date: Day31
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://admissions.wisc.edu/veterans-and-active-
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)45%
Percent of males who join fraternities9%
Percent of females who join sororities8%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing92%
Percent who live off campus or commute8%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)38%
Percent of males who join fraternities9%
Percent of females who join sororities8%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing26%
Percent who live off campus or commute74%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://financialaid.wisc.edu/net-price-calculator/
Financial Aid
8 TABLESAcademic Year2019-2020 estimated
Federal methodology (FM)X
Federal$23,304,463
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$68,552,388
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,703,522
Total Scholarships/Grants$108,070,711
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$36,903,823
Federal Work-Study$12,022,663
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Parent Loans$7,551,338
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$11,196,003
Athletic Awards$2,841,290
Federal$225,842
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$11,194,892
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,754,852
Total Scholarships/Grants$19,697,550
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$39,808,906
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Parent Loans$12,909,806
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,438,425
Athletic Awards$14,714,587
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.5,910
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month12
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
If yes, starting date (Month):03
If yes, starting date (Day):01
Alumni affiliationX
Job skillsX
LeadershipX
Alumni affiliationX
Job skillsX
LeadershipX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:T wo new programs for Wisconsin Resident Students. Bucky’s Tuition Promise (https://financialaid.wisc.edu/types-of-aid/tuition-promise/) guarantees scholarships and grants to pay tuition and fees for incoming Wisconsin Resident students whose AGI is $56,000 or less. Badger Promise https://financialaid.wisc.edu/types-of-aid/badger-promise/ guarantees a period of free tuition and segregated fees to Wisconsin resident students who have transferred from any of the two-year UW Colleges or from liberal arts associate degree programs at Madison College (MATC), Milwaukee Area Technical College, Western Technical College, Nicolet College, the College of Menominee Nation, and the Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College Common Data Set 2019- 2020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17.4
based on ____ students64
and ____ faculty2,239
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 203 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 203 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 211 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 211 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 6 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 6 |
| Total | Not reported | 3605 |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.