University of Texas at Austin
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of Texas at Austin — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$75,121
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
89%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$19,857
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,500
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
144numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Shiva
Last Name:Jaganathan
Title:Chief Data Officer and Assistant Vice Provost and Director
Office:Institutional Reporting, Research, Information and Surveys
Address Line 1:1616 Guadalupe Ste. 6.422
Zipcode78,701
Country:United States
Phone:(512) 471-3833
Email Address:IRRIS@austin.utexas.edu
City:Austin
StateTexas
Street Address Line 1:110 Inner Campus Drive
CityAustin
StateTexas
Zip78,705
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(512) 471-3434
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.utexas.edu/
Admissions Phone Number:(512) 475-7399
Admissions Email Address:admissions@austin.utexas.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.utexas.edu/about/diversity-equity-and-inclusion
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3758 | 5454 | 18 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 350 | 437 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 12350 | 17247 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 16458 | 23138 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 338 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 2582 | 11907 | 11963 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 469 | 1965 | 1978 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2756 | 13290 | 13421 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 13 | 49 | 51 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2650 | 10681 | 10716 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 96.1% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 66,109 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 19,253 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied38,985
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted15,974
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied21,103
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,482
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied6,021
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted797
Total academic units14
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Total academic units20
Mathematics4
Science4
Social studies4
Academic electives6
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 100 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Application closing date (fall): Month12
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Priority Date: Month11
Priority Date: Day1
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 4114 | 3724 | 8 | 7846 |
| Admitted | 1075 | 1293 | 0 | 2368 |
| Enrolled | 753 | 990 | 0 | 1743 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Applicants must submit official transcripts, two essays, and a resume of extra-curricular, civic, and other activities. Letters of recommendation are considered. Some majors have specific coursework requirements. A variety of special circumstances may also affect the final admission decision. These circumstances include socio-economic standing; educational goals; cultural background; employment, internships, etc.; race or ethnicity; personal experiences and hardships; personal responsibilities; and any additional information submitted by the applicant.
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://admissions.utexas.edu/apply/transfer-
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://onestop.utexas.edu/managing-costs/cost-tuition-rates/cost-of-attendance/net-price-calculator/
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 11678 | 11678 |
| Tuition: in-state | 42778 | 42778 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 14136 | 14136 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 14136 | 14136 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 724 | 724 | 724 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 14136 |
| Transportation | 1682 | 1682 | 1682 |
| Other expenses | 5034 | 5034 | 5034 |
Financial Aid
2 TABLESProvide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.7,557
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$8,982,500
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio19
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 12.76% | Not reported | 4.66% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 0.22% | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Engineering | 1.93% | Not reported | 13.68% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 11.99% | Not reported | 1.02% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.98% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 2.88% | Not reported | 1.61% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 3.94% | Not reported | 2.91% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.44% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 4.85% | Not reported | 3.05% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.69% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.52% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.40% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.09% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 5.80% |
| Public administration and social services | 0.66% | Not reported | 0.83% |
| Social sciences | 0.55% | Not reported | 8.80% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 1.02% | Not reported | 3.86% |
| Health professions and related programs | 2.66% | Not reported | 5.56% |
| Business/marketing | 8.24% | Not reported | 11.62% |
| History | 0.07% | Not reported | 1.03% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.