University of Pennsylvania

2024-25

The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Pennsylvania — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jun 30, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

5.4%

Applications

65,236

Admitted

3,523

Enrolled

2,395

SAT Math

770-800

SAT Reading

740-770

ACT Composite

34-36

§ Admission rounds

How the class gets assembled.

No Early Decision reported
§ Adjusted admission flow

This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.

Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.

All applicants
Applicants65,236reported count
Admits3,5235%
Class seats2,39568% yield
Exact admission data
Admission flow data
PathApplicantsAdmittedAdmit rateClass seatsNote
All applicants65,2363,5235%2,395School-reported totals.
Overall yield: 68%. Published yield blends high-commitment ED admits with the rest of the admitted pool.
§ SOURCE: COMMON DATA SET 2024-25 · §C.21 §C.22 §C.2 §C.7 §C.13METHOD →ARCHIVED SOURCE →
§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$111,371
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
97%
6-year completion
Average net price
$28,699
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$15,715
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report122 of ~122numbers from this report.

General Information

2 TABLES
Institutional Control
PublicPrivate (nonprofit)
Academic Year
SemesterSemester

Enrollment And Persistence

3 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported24023
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents309Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino271Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-Hispanic206876Not reported
White, non-Hispanic5252583Not reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic815Not reported
Asian, non-Hispanic7532964Not reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic12Not reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic126537Not reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknown194546Not reported
Total239310013Not reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diplomaNot reported
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees2634
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees4473
Post-master's certificatesNot reported
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practice844
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported

First-Time, First-Year Admission

4 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknown genderTotal
Applied3033934887Not reported1065,236
Admitted16341889Not reportedNot reported3,523
Enrolled full-time1108Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2,395
Other fields
Total first-time, first-year who applied5,219
Total first-time, first-year who were admitted440
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled348
Total first-time, first-year who applied44,290
Total first-time, first-year who were admitted2,644
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled1,733
Total first-time, first-year who applied15,727
Total first-time, first-year who were admitted439
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled314
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language4
Social studies2
History2
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Talent or abilityNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Character and personal qualitiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First generationNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alumni relationNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Geographical residenceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State residencyNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religious affiliation or commitmentNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Volunteer workNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Work experienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Level of applicant interestNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT501204
ACT17416
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writing740760770
SAT math770790800
ACT composite343536
ACT math343536
ACT English353536
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Transfer Admission

1 TABLE
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)83%
Percent of men who join fraternities0%
Percent of women who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)82%
Percent of men who join fraternities19%
Percent of women who join sororities17%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing52%
Percent who live off campus or commute45%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20

Annual Expenses

2 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/upenn
If your institution's 2025-2026 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.Maximum
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2025-2026 academic year costs of attendance will be available:No
Credits per Term
Minimum2

Financial Aid

1 TABLE
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,457

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

2 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported1%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported0%
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported2%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported9%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported8%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported14%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported2%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported4%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported7%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported3%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported2%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported0%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported13%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reported2%
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1%
OtherNot reportedNot reported100%
Total100%Not reportedNot reported

Source Document