University of Pennsylvania
2013-14
The 2013-14 Common Data Set for University of Pennsylvania — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$111,371
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
97%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$28,699
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,715
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
197numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 11646 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 21358 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 253 | 1077 | 1077 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 228 | 962 | 962 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 173 | 698 | 698 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1048 | 4418 | 4418 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | 14 | 14 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 451 | 1843 | 1843 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 6 | 6 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 83 | 349 | 349 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 112 | 345 | 345 |
| Total | 2353 | 9712 | 9712 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | 1 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 2848 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 149 |
| Master's degrees | 3767 |
| Post-master's certificates | 31 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 527 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 680 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2343 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2341 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 2058 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 144 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 39 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 2241 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 96% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 16005 | 15277 | Not reported | 31,282 |
| Admitted | 1850 | 1980 | Not reported | 3,830 |
| Enrolled | 1187 | 1234 | Not reported | 2,421 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1234 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language4
Social studies2
History3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 81 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 690 | 780 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 30 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 31 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class94
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class99
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.747
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.493
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.241
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.91
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1220 | 932 | Not reported | 2152 |
| Admitted | 109 | 141 | Not reported | 250 |
| Enrolled | 74 | 96 | Not reported | 170 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:www.admissions.upenn.edu/apply/transfer-admission/requirements-and-process
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:16
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:course
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:16
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:course
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)83%
Percent of males who join fraternities31%
Percent of females who join sororities29%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing97%
Percent who live off campus or commute2%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)82%
Percent of males who join fraternities31%
Percent of females who join sororities28%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing54%
Percent who live off campus or commute39%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESMinimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Financial Aid
5 TABLESFederal$9,008,407
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$156,312,793
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,610,661
Total Scholarships/Grants$171,573,890
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,630,143
Federal Work-Study$11,674,576
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,286,603
Total Self-Help$15,591,322
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,245,168
Federal$162,937
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$6,054,218
Total Scholarships/Grants$6,225,851
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$18,633,202
Total Self-Help$18,633,202
Parent Loans$9,712,074
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$5,489,335
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Common Data Set 2013-14 25 20-Mar-2015 Common Data Set 2013-14 H. FINANCIAL AID Common Data Set 2013-14 26 20-Mar-2015 Common Data Set 2013-14
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio6
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 10% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 16% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 22% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.