University of Pennsylvania
2012-13
The 2012-13 Common Data Set for University of Pennsylvania — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$111,371
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
97%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$28,699
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$15,715
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
188numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESAdmissions Phone Number:............................................................ (215) 898-7507
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
CertificateX
DiplomaX
AssociateX
Transfer AssociateX
Terminal AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9682 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 11657 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 21339 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 280 | 1086 | 1086 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 248 | 853 | 853 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1034 | 4243 | 4243 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 452 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 97 | 270 | 270 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 2397 | 9374 | 9374 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 00 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 514 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 675 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 700 | 62 | 73 | 68 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 4416 | 2108 | 4416 | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 98.1% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESTotal academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language4
Social studies2
History3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 85 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 690 | 780 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 29 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 31 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Amount of application fee:75
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1164 | 932 | Not reported | 2096 |
| Admitted | 98 | 99 | Not reported | 197 |
| Enrolled | 68 | 59 | Not reported | 127 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Please see http://www.admissionug.upenn.edu/applying/eligibility.php NSTITUTIONAL RESEARCHNSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH & & ANALYSISANALYSIS Universityof Pennsylvania Common Data Set 2012-13
Fall Closing Date: Month03
Fall Notification Date: Month05
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?Yes
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:16
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:course
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:16
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:course
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Other (specify):X
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)79%
Percent of males who join fraternities30%
Percent of females who join sororities27%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing98%
Percent who live off campus or commute2%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)82%
Percent of males who join fraternities30%
Percent of females who join sororities27%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing55%
Percent who live off campus or commute39%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Jazz bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | 39088 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | 4650 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
3 TABLESAcademic Year2012-2013 estimated
Federal$8,765,431
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$149,693,295
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,630,387
Total Scholarships/Grants$164,680,406
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,998,339
Federal Work-Study$13,580,594
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,197,948
Total Self-Help$17,776,881
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,353,213
Federal$96,096
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$6,102,773
Total Scholarships/Grants$6,210,739
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$15,742,324
Total Self-Help$15,742,324
Parent Loans$10,323,228
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$5,925,624
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESbased on ____ students9,477
and ____ faculty1,708
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 617 | 617 |
| 10-19 students | 970 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 309 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 103 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 72 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 168 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 54 | Not reported |
| Total | 2293 | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.