University of Vermont
2012-13
The 2012-13 Common Data Set for University of Vermont — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 16, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$62,472
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
79%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$19,343
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,951
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
260numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESMain Phone Number (Area Code)802
Main Phone Number:656-3131
WWW Home Page Address:www.uvm.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):802
Admissions Phone Number:656-3370
Admissions Email Address:admissions@uvm.edu
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 23 | 185 | 240 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 102 | 415 | 439 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 21 | 132 | 152 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2056 | 8577 | 9399 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 7 | 29 | 35 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 45 | 205 | 245 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 8 | 8 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 71 | 275 | 285 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 46 | 366 | 408 |
| Total | 2372 | 10192 | 11211 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 425 |
| Post-master's certificates | 7 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 62 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 145 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2008 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2008 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 85% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9730 | 12078 | Not reported | 21,808 |
| Admitted | 6984 | 9732 | Not reported | 16,716 |
| Enrolled | 1006 | Not reported | Not reported | 1,006 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | — | Yes | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | Yes | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 550 | 650 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 24 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 24 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 24 | 30 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 558 | 678 | Not reported | 1236 |
| Admitted | 360 | 471 | Not reported | 831 |
| Enrolled | 204 | 222 | Not reported | 426 |
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:High school record is considered, but primary emphasis is placed on the quality of the college record. While 2.7 is the minimum college grade point average required, most successful transfer applicants present a prior college grade point average of 3.0 or higher.
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:30
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESCross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)77%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing99%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)67%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities6%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing50%
Percent who live off campus or commute50%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:www.uvm.edu/~stdfinsr
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 33672 | 33672 |
| Tuition: in-district | 13344 | 13344 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1940 | 1940 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1915 | 1915 | 1915 |
| Other expenses | 1915 | 1915 | 1915 |
In-district:$556
In-state (out-of-district):$1,403
Financial Aid
9 TABLESAcademic Year2012-2013 estimated
Federal methodology (FM)X
Federal$11,427,856
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$63,837,974
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,346,705
Total Scholarships/Grants$82,080,580
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$21,124,895
Federal Work-Study$1,270,614
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$22,395,509
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,830,477
Athletic Awards$1,671,937
Federal$4,952
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$7,136,038
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,201,534
Total Scholarships/Grants$8,675,004
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$24,010,824
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$24,010,824
Parent Loans$39,682,243
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,153,960
Athletic Awards$4,185,095
FAFSAX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month02
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day10
If yes, starting date (Month):03
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Federal Nursing LoansX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students10,978
and ____ faculty656
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 3.3% | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 10.3% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.8% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 1.8% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 7.2% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 6.5% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.5% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 7.7% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 8.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.