University of Utah
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for University of Utah — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 14, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$67,170
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
65%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,200
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,000
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
266numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Nichole
Last Name:Greenwood
Title:Reporting Manager
Office:University Analytics and Institutional Reporting
Address Line 1:201 President's Circle, Room 110
Zipcode84,112
Country:United States
Phone:801-585-5731
Email Address:surveys@obia.utah.edu
City:Salt Lake City
StateUtah
Street Address Line 1:201 Presidents Circle
CitySalt Lake City
StateUtah
Zip84,112
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(801) 581-7200
WWW Home Page Address:www.utah.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(801) 581-8761
Admissions Email Address:admissions@utah.edu
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2723.0 | 2648.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 651.0 | 568.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 8184.0 | 7498.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 11558.0 | 10714.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 277.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 776.0 | 3668.0 | 3715.0 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 64.0 | 336.0 | 343.0 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3615.0 | 16453.0 | 16769.0 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 26.0 | 95.0 | 96.0 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 302.0 | 1605.0 | 1651.0 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 29.0 | 105.0 | 108.0 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 351.0 | 1575.0 | 1600.0 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 5560.0 | 26041.0 | 26827.0 |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied0
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted0
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled0
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied0
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted1,017
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled914
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied277
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted0
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled0
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who applied0
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who were admitted22,996
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who enrolled20,046
C.1315560
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 10 | 554 |
| ACT | 44 | 2422 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1190 | 1280 | 1380 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 590 | 640 | 698 |
| SAT math | 590 | 640 | 700 |
| ACT composite | 22 | 25 | 29 |
| ACT math | 21 | 25 | 28 |
| ACT English | 21 | 25 | 30 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80025
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69948
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59923
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4994
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80027
SAT Math: 600-69945
SAT Math: 500-59925
SAT Math: 400-4993
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160022
SAT Composite: 1200-139952
SAT Composite: 1000-119923
SAT Composite: 800-9993
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3624
ACT Composite: 24-2941
ACT Composite: 18-2330
ACT Composite: 12-175
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9945
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7420
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4913
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.245
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.991
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA of 4.016
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9932
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7429
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4922
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.993
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9939
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7424
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.247
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.992
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.68
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:96
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month4
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Priority Date: Month12
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:200
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESList any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://admissions.utah.edu/information-
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://financialaid.utah.edu/tuition-and-
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | 9421.00 | 9421.00 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 32976.00 | 32976.00 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1203.00 | 1203.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 13315.00 | 13315.00 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 7465.00 | 7465.00 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 5850.00 | 5850.00 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
If yes, what percentage of full-time undergraduates pay more than the tuition and fees reported in $G$1?27%
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1240.00 | 1240.00 | 1240.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 2000.00 | 2000.00 | 2000.00 |
| Other expenses | 7700.00 | 7700.00 | 7700.00 |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 1253 | 4909 | 149 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 7079.00 | 7630.00 | 2769.00 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 29202.00 | 26890.00 | 26160.00 |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$30,254,243
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$10,128,436
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$358,813
Total Scholarships/Grants$44,000,291
Federal Work-Study$18,871,902
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$47,502,760
Parent Loans$28,630,858
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,258,799
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$186,852
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$1,760,139
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$12,569,788
Total Scholarships/Grants$76,542,210
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$52,637,392
Parent Loans$52,637,392
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$62,025,431
Athletic Awards$11,650,548
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$3,956,612
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 2.0% | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Communication/journalism | 2.0% | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Communication technologies | 1.0% | Not reported | 9.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 1.0% | Not reported | 9.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | 5.0% | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Education | 5.0% | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Engineering | 2.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 1.0% | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 5.0% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Law/legal studies | 2.0% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| English | 2.0% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | 4.0% | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Science technologies | 11.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Psychology | 11.0% | Not reported | 8.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | 4.0% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Social sciences | 34.0% | Not reported | 14.0% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | 2.0% | Not reported | 7.0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 2.0% | Not reported | 7.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | 9.0% | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Business/marketing | 16.0% | Not reported | 13.0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.