University of Rochester
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for University of Rochester — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$79,042
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
85%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$29,278
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,000
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
196numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESName of College/University:Univ ers ity of Roc hes ter
Street Address Line 1:PO Box 270251
CityRoc hes ter
StateNY
Zip14627-0251
Main Phone Number (Area Code)585
Main Phone Number:275-2121
WWW Home Page Address:www.roc hes ter.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):585
Admissions Phone Number:275-3221
Admissions Email Address:admit@admis s ions .r oc hes ter .edu
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 372 | 1587 | 1602 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 149 | 517 | 529 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 68 | 302 | 333 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 562 | 2640 | 2716 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 6 | 8 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 348 | 1067 | 1082 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 6 | 8 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 78 | 268 | 274 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 46 | 177 | 215 |
| Total | 1625 | 6570 | 6767 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 21 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1922 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 104 |
| Master's degrees | 1310 |
| Post-master's certificates | 242 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 265 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 109 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 224 | 344 | 893 | 1461 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 9 | 10 |
| Final cohort | 224 | 343 | 884 | 1451 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | 193 | 305 | 804 | 1302 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 86.2% | 88.9% | 91.0% | 89.7% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 92.4% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESWait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:2,229
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:2,086
Number of wait-listed students admitted:29
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | Yes | — | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | Yes | — |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | Yes | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 28 | 447 |
| ACT | 11 | 173 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1410 | 1460 | 1520 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 710 | 760 | 790 |
| ACT composite | 31 | 33 | 34 |
| ACT math | 29 | 33 | 35 |
| ACT English | 32 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80067.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69930.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5992
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80081
SAT Math: 600-69917.7
SAT Math: 500-5991.3
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160075.8
SAT Composite: 1200-139923
SAT Composite: 1000-11991.1
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3691.4
ACT Composite: 24-295.7
ACT Composite: 18-232.9
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class62
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class90
Percent in top half of high school graduating class98
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class2
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA of 4.023.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9938.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7424.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.499.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.243.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Amount of application fee:50
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESHigh school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):3.65
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:N/A -
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:64
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)65%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities9%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing98%
Percent who live off campus or commute2%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)58%
Percent of males who join fraternities13%
Percent of females who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing70%
Percent who live off campus or commute30%
Percent of students age 25 and older4%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 63150 | 63150 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
6 TABLESFederal$6,964,879
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$122,652,576
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,912,862
Total Scholarships/Grants$134,943,230
Federal Work-Study$4,494,391
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$577,981
Parent Loans$1,040,957
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$4,264,244
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$375,765
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$18,306,526
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,973,336
Total Scholarships/Grants$24,654,306
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$55,563
Parent Loans$7,831,539
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$109,100
Athletic Awards$0
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$19,756,171
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
Alumni affiliationX
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.67% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.