University of Rhode Island
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Rhode Island — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of Rhode Island says 26,987 first-year students applied and 19,475 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 72%. 2,995 admitted students enrolled (15% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1020–1260. Waitlist: 2,459 offered a spot, 795 accepted one, and 474 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 26,987 | 19,475 | 72% | 2,995 | School-reported totals. |
32% joined after being offered a spot. 60% of students who joined were admitted. 9% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 2,459 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 795 |
| Admitted from wait list | 474 |
| Joined after being offered | 32% |
| Admitted after joining | 60% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Application fee: $65.
This school marks applicant interest as Considered. Read yield and wait-list behavior with that policy in mind.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
3 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1,132 | 1,834 | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1 | 0 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 4,138 | 5,625 | Not reported | 10 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 5,271 | 7,459 | Not reported | 11 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 12 | 15 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 5,283 | 7,474 | Not reported | 11 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 14 | 13 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 2 | 8 | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 304 | 254 | Not reported | 25 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 320 | 275 | Not reported | 28 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 396 | 548 | Not reported | 13 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 716 | 823 | Not reported | 41 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 5999 | 8297 | Not reported | 52 | 14,376 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 187 | 311 | Not reported | 6 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 387 | 720 | Not reported | 9 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 2 | 5 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 576 | 1,036 | Not reported | 15 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 100 | 157 | Not reported | 6 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 344 | 464 | Not reported | 9 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 61 | 65 | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 505 | 686 | Not reported | 16 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,834 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 17,210 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 29 | 121 | 183 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 454 | 1,653 | 1,819 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 140 | 618 | 708 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2,104 | 9,780 | 10,203 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | 24 | 30 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 91 | 420 | 450 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 6 | 8 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 109 | 525 | 527 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 63 | 234 | 448 |
| Total | 2,995 | 13,381 | 14,376 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 21 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3,544 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 172 |
| Master's degrees | 645 |
| Post-master's certificates | 6 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 93 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 132 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 31 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 789 | 1,298 | 953 | 3,040 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 789 | 1,298 | 952 | 3,039 |
| Completed in less than four years | 384 | 817 | 594 | 1,795 |
| Completed in less than five years | 105 | 119 | 115 | 339 |
| Completed in less than six years | 26 | 21 | 18 | 65 |
| Total completers | 515 | 957 | 727 | 2,199 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 65.3% | 73.7% | 76.4% | 72.4% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 819 | 1,368 | 977 | 3,164 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 819 | 1,367 | 977 | 3,163 |
| Completed in less than four years | 353 | 822 | 614 | 1,789 |
| Completed in less than five years | 122 | 139 | 103 | 364 |
| Completed in less than six years | 20 | 24 | 20 | 64 |
| Total completers | 495 | 985 | 737 | 2,217 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 60.4% | 72.1% | 75.4% | 70.1% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9,498 | 16,968 | Not reported | 516 | 26,987 |
| Admitted | 6,672 | 12,776 | Not reported | 26 | 19,475 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1,132 | 1,834 | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 14 | 13 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,995 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 27.4 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,020 | 1,170 | 1,260 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 520 | 590 | 650 |
| SAT math | 500 | 570 | 630 |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 728 | 919 | Not reported | 0 | 1,652 |
| Admitted | 464 | 596 | Not reported | 0 | 1,062 |
| Enrolled | 316 | 306 | Not reported | 0 | 624 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $14,630 | $14,630 |
| Tuition: in-state | $14,630 | $14,630 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $34,834 | $34,834 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | $2,312 | $2,312 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $14,638 | $14,638 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $9,288 | $9,288 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $5,350 | $5,350 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,250 | $1,250 | $1,250 |
| Food only | Not reported | $3,750 | $3,750 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $9,138 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | $799 | $10,868 | $3,514 |
| Other expenses | $2,270 | $2,270 | $2,270 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 771 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $6,519 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 20 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $12,534 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2,907 | 12,232 | 481 |
| Determined to have financial need | 2,054 | 9,240 | 397 |
| Awarded any aid | 2,051 | 9,106 | 341 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,993 | 8,649 | 278 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1,266 | 4,533 | 133 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 166 | 585 | 2 |
| Need fully met | 650 | 2,429 | 27 |
| Average percentage of need met | 60% | 55% | 39% |
| Average financial aid package | $17,388 | $16,320 | $8,288 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $13,313 | $11,857 | $5,356 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,417 | $4,322 | $3,626 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,231 | $4,129 | $3,565 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1,754 | 70% | $40,247 |
| Federal loan programs | 1,676 | 67% | $20,203 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| Private student loans | 693 | 28% | $52,978 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 784 | 364 | 1,148 |
| Members of minority groups | 102 | 24 | 126 |
| Females | 399 | 203 | 602 |
| Males | 384 | 122 | 506 |
| Nonresidents | 177 | 0 | 177 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 682 | 17 | 699 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 101 | 22 | 123 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 320 | 320 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 334 | 86 |
| 10-19 students | 511 | 338 |
| 20-29 students | 655 | 191 |
| 30-39 students | 308 | 37 |
| 40-49 students | 206 | 2 |
| 50-99 students | 147 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 93 | 2 |
| Total | 2,254 | 657 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0.5% | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 5% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | 1% | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.5% | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Communication/journalism | 3% | Not reported | 9.8% |
| Communication technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 0% | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | 6% | Not reported | 3.3% |
| Engineering | 0.5% | Not reported | 8.4% |
| Engineering technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0% | Not reported | 4% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0% | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Law/legal studies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| English | 2% | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Library science | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | 2.5% | Not reported | 7.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0% | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 4.5% | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Parks and recreation | 0% | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0% | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | 4.5% | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Science technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | 0% | Not reported | 7.2% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 2% | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | 34.2% | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Social sciences | 11.1% | Not reported | 7.3% |
| Construction trades | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0% | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | 0% | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Health professions and related programs | 8.1% | Not reported | 12.2% |
| Business/marketing | 14.6% | Not reported | 13.9% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.