University of Rhode Island
2002-03
The 2002-03 Common Data Set for University of Rhode Island — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$69,743
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
73%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$21,440
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$22,250
federal loans only
FSA
9%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
181numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESWWW Home Page Address:............................................... http://www.uri.edu
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 4 | 36 | 39 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 115 | 431 | 448 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1871 | 7963 | 8219 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 12 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 60 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 2360 | 10402 | 10784 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1893 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | 77 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 80% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units18
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies2
Academic electives5
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language3
Social studies3
Academic electives5
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 96 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class15.8
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class58.8
Percent in top half of high school graduating class89.3
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class10.6
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1.3
Amount of application fee:35
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 671 | 731 | Not reported | 1402 |
| Admitted | 370 | 450 | Not reported | 820 |
| Enrolled | 238 | 354 | Not reported | 592 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of Some
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Transfer candidates to Pharmacy are only reviewed for access as third-year students. 12/22/2005 8:44 AM 11 Common Data Set 2002-2003
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Spring Closing Date: Month1
Spring Rpely Date: Month1
Spring Reply Date: Day15
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:60
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:24
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)52%
Percent of males who join fraternities13%
Percent of females who join sororities14%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing94%
Percent who live off campus or commute6%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)38%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities11%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing33%
Percent who live off campus or commute62%
Percent of students age 25 and older15%
Average age of full-time students18.4
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.4
Average age of full-time students20.8
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.5
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1990 | 1990 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 800 | 800 | 800 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 180 | 552 | 2610 |
| Other expenses | 1570 | 1570 | 1570 |
In-district:$161
In-state (out-of-district):$161
Out-of-state:$556
Financial Aid
4 TABLESAcademic Year2002-2003 estimated
Federal$7,385,261
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$7,533,437
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,592,711
Total Scholarships/Grants$18,099,559
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$34,515,000
Federal Work-Study$900,000
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,179,172
Total Self-Help$38,594,172
Parent Loans$6,603,497
Athletic Awards$1,343,243
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$2,118,263
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$2,118,263
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$17,847,290
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,934,621
Total Self-Help$20,781,911
Parent Loans$11,243,793
Athletic Awards$2,854,392
Alumni affiliationX
LeadershipX
Alumni affiliationX
LeadershipX
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17.5
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 91 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 91 | 74 |
| 20-29 students | 282 | 74 |
| 30-39 students | 491 | 5 |
| 40-49 students | 306 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 3 |
| 100+ students | 45 | 0 |
| Total | 45 | 401 |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.