University of Notre Dame
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Notre Dame — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, University of Notre Dame says 29,942 first-year students applied and 3,374 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 11%. 2,082 admitted students enrolled (62% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1470–1540 and ACT of 33–35. Waitlist: 2,206 offered a spot, 1,385 accepted one, and 42 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 29,942 | 3,374 | 11% | 2,082 | School-reported totals. |
63% joined after being offered a spot. 3% of students who joined were admitted. 7% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 2,206 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 1,385 |
| Admitted from wait list | 42 |
| Joined after being offered | 63% |
| Admitted after joining | 3% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1059 | 1023 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 23 | 4 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 3430 | 3266 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 4512 | 4293 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 30 | 31 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 4542 | 4324 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 9 | 4 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 9 | 4 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 9 | 5 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 4551 | 4329 | 0 | 0 | 8880 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 786 | 635 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1337 | 1059 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 25 | 8 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 2148 | 1702 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 42 | 23 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 64 | 41 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 40 | 102 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 146 | 166 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 2294 | 1868 | 0 | 0 | 4162 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 13042 | 6197 | 0 | 0 | 13042 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 159 | 605 | 664 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 366 | 1351 | 1351 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 70 | 416 | 416 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1232 | 5237 | 5237 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 10 | 10 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 117 | 504 | 506 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 13 | 13 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 89 | 492 | 492 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 45 | 190 | 191 |
| Total | 2082 | 8818 | 8880 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 187 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 60 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 99% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 14922 | 15020 | Not reported | Not reported | 29,942 |
| Admitted | 1736 | 1638 | Not reported | Not reported | 3,374 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1059 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,082 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | Yes | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1470 | 1510 | 1540 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 720 | 750 | 770 |
| SAT math | 735 | 770 | 790 |
| ACT composite | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
1 TABLE| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1250 | 1250 | 1250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 750 | 750 | 750 |
| Other expenses | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 49 | 640 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 22952 | 10100 | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 121 | 473 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 42302 | 52740 | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 2082 | 8866 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1469 | 5052 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 1047 | 4126 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 1047 | 4126 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1046 | 4106 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 803 | 3191 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 347 | 1355 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 1045 | 4114 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | 67855 | 68220 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 57934 | 57800 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3655 | 5496 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 2647 | 4327 | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1329 | 205 | 1534 |
| Members of minority groups | 290 | 31 | 321 |
| Females | 446 | 83 | 529 |
| Males | 883 | 122 | 1005 |
| Nonresidents | 91 | 10 | 101 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1203 | 115 | 1318 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 103 | 58 | 161 |
| Bachelor's degree | 20 | 26 | 46 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 3 | 6 | 9 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 11% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 16% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 19% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.