University of Notre Dame
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for University of Notre Dame — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$99,980
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
95%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$26,780
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,000
federal loans only
FSA
2%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
394numbers from this report.
General Information
7 TABLESFirst Name:Brandy
Last Name:Rypma
Title:IR Specialist
Address Line 1:403 Grace Hall
Zipcode46,556
Phone:574.63
Email Address:instres@nd.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://ospir.nd.edu/institutional-research/common-data-set-cds/common-data-set/
City:Notre Dame
StateIN
Name of College/University:University of Notre Dame
CityNotre Dame
StateIN
Zip46,656
Country:USA
Main Phone Number (Area Code)574
Main Phone Number:631-5000
WWW Home Page Address:www.nd.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):574
Admissions Phone Number:631-7505
Admissions Email Address:admissions@nd.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8874 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3935 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 12809 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 94 | 486 | 505 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 234 | 11 | 11 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 80 | 305 | 305 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1479 | 6004 | 6005 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 8 | 24 | 24 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 152 | 438 | 438 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 5 | 11 | 11 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 111 | 491 | 491 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 30 | 77 | 77 |
| Total | 2193 | 319 | 238 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 220 | 412 | 1379 | 2011 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 220 | 411 | 1377 | 2008 |
| Completed in less than four years | 190 | 385 | 1290 | 1865 |
| Completed in less than five years | 16 | 15 | 34 | 65 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 2 | 6 | 8 |
| Total completers | 206 | 402 | 1330 | 1938 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 94% | 98% | 97% | 97% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 224 | 567 | 1278 | 2069 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 5 | 6 |
| Final cohort | 224 | 566 | 1273 | 2063 |
| Completed in less than four years | 189 | 524 | 1168 | 1881 |
| Completed in less than five years | 13 | 21 | 54 | 88 |
| Completed in less than six years | 5 | 1 | 3 | 9 |
| Total completers | 207 | 546 | 1225 | 1978 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 92% | 96% | 96% | 96% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 97% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?No
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 10865 | 10388 | Not reported | 21,253 |
| Admitted | 2081 | 1954 | Not reported | 4,035 |
| Enrolled | 1115 | 1078 | Not reported | 2,193 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 1078 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:1,778
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:1,253
Number of wait-listed students admitted:530
Total academic units16
English4
Total academic units20
English4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | — | Yes | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | Yes | — |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 42 | 924 |
| ACT | 58 | 1254 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 690 | 760 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 710 | 790 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 32 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80071.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69925.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5992.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100.1
SAT Math: 700-80079.7
SAT Math: 600-69917.6
SAT Math: 500-5992.4
SAT Math: 400-4990.3
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: Total0
ACT Composite: 30-3689.2
ACT Composite: 24-299.8
ACT Composite: 18-231
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class90
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class98
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Total0
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 423 | 311 | Not reported | 734 |
| Admitted | 179 | 140 | Not reported | 319 |
| Enrolled | 130 | 108 | Not reported | 238 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):3.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:100 or higher for TOEFL for international students CDS-D Page 13 Common Data Set 2020-2021
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students? | D11 Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable: Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students? | D11 Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable: Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students? | | X | | | |
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:60
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:60
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 15 Common Data Set 2020-2021
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)93%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)92%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing73%
Percent who live off campus or commute27%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 58336 | 58336 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 507 | 507 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum12
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1250 | 1250 | 1250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 750 | 750 | 750 |
| Other expenses | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 49 | 321 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 18292 | 17687 | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 110 | 452 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 39542 | 48885 | Not reported |
Academic Year2020-2021 estimated
Federal$8,967,896
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$517,632
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$174,928,323
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,276,433
Total Scholarships/Grants$188,690,284
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$18,891,936
Federal Work-Study$2,281,298
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,171,536
Total Self-Help$24,344,770
Parent Loans$257,472
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,065,784
Athletic Awards$593,825
Federal$10,891,448
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$11,056
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$9,414,557
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,878,255
Total Scholarships/Grants$24,195,316
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$15,799,172
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$9,952,915
Total Self-Help$25,752,087
Parent Loans$9,822,030
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$6,069,996
Athletic Awards$22,265,780
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 2190 | 8829 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1630 | 5230 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 1168 | 4243 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 1168 | 4243 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1129 | 4137 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 966 | 3637 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 367 | 990 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 1167 | 4224 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | 55639 | 55556 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 47029 | 45565 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 5383 | 6688 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 3911 | 5189 | Not reported |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 823 | 40.70 | 28696 |
| Federal loan programs | 763 | 37.70 | 18907 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 538 | 26.60 | 17083 |
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:196
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month11
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
If yes, starting date (Month):2
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
AcademicsX
AthleticsX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1210 | 160 | 1370 |
| Members of minority groups | 238 | 14 | 252 |
| Females | 382 | 59 | 441 |
| Males | 828 | 101 | 929 |
| Nonresidents | 68 | 3 | 71 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 1104 | 97 | 1201 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 82 | 37 | 119 |
| Bachelor's degree | 17 | 19 | 36 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8.3
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 279 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 279 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 838 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 262 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 193 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 116 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 144 | Not reported |
| Total | 67 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 12% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 17% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 20% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.