University of Notre Dame
2009-10
The 2009-10 Common Data Set for University of Notre Dame — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$99,980
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
95%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$26,780
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,000
federal loans only
FSA
2%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
120numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESAre your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3444 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 59 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 72 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1532 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 21 | 57 | 57 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 177 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 2064 | 0 | 00 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1995 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 1995 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 1797 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 107 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 12 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 1916 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1945 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 1945 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 1765 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 93 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 5 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | 1863 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 96% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESEnglish4
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
History2
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
History4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Standardized test scores | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Application essay | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| First generation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alumni relation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geographical residence | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State residency | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 364 | Not reported | Not reported | 540 |
| Admitted | 97 | Not reported | Not reported | 152 |
| Enrolled | 69 | Not reported | Not reported | 113 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):3.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:60
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:60
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)93%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)92%
Percent who live off campus or commute19%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 39412 | 39412 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | 507 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2008-2009 estimated
Federal$9,269,724
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$86,831,680
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,729,119
Total Scholarships/Grants$100,207,181
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$18,798,216
Federal Work-Study$4,251,990
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,015,481
Total Self-Help$24,065,687
Parent Loans$206,137
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,918,762
Federal$4,480,251
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,844,090
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,703,583
Total Scholarships/Grants$14,115,630
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$19,980,361
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$8,297,338
Total Self-Help$28,277,699
Parent Loans$9,629,080
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$5,954,540
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:87
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 5 Common Data Set 2009-10
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11.8
based on ____ students10,939
and ____ faculty927
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.